Luscious Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Best truffle recipe! I like to divide the chocolate mix into four even parts and add 1 Tbsp flavoring to each. I've used almond and vanilla extracts; raspberry, orange, irish cream, whiskey and mint liqueurs; and cinnamon and orange oils. I've only heard rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
These are great. Easy, crowd-pleasing and very attractive and decadent looking. Tips; divide the mixture into four parts and chill separately. They take a while to roll, and while you're making one batch, the rest of the mixture may get soft and sticky. Also, chill in a shallow container so the mixture hardens more evenly (and faster). I used ground pecans, cocoa and medium flaked unsweetened coconut. My friends loved them and thought they had a dozen ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Yum and easy! Definately a keeper for holiday tins. BTW - check out Chocolate Truffles by Eagle Brand on this website...it is the same recipe, but outlines how to handle flavour variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
the truffles were easy but were not very flavorful. I thought it tasted more like a dense fudge than truffles. I did find that microwaving the mixture for thirty seconds if it was too hard made it much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
These were so good and easy to make. I added vanilla to half the chocolate mixture and Bailey's to the other and then rolled the truffles in chopped walnuts or powdered sugar. One helpful hint: use a melon baller to scoop the chocolate out, it is so much easier and less messy. Also, do not put in the frezer, they stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Really easy to do; the hardest part is just rolling all the balls. Maybe a melon baller would work? The people I gave them to were very impressed and said they were rich and delicious. I rolled them in colored sugar until I ran out. Then I rolled them in white sugar, which is perfect because it's always on hand and it looks like snowballs for Christmas. Work quickly and don't handle a ball for too long or it will become soft. Work with small batches and keep the rest in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I would have to say these were fantastic. I read all the reviews before making and found them helpful. I did adapt the recipe. I made three flavors: Kahlua, Vanilla, and Cinnamon. The cinnamon were the biggest hit. In Order to make them more authentic truffles... I dipped them in a mixture of almond bark and chocolate ships which made for a nice hard outer shell. Very simple but more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
The only problem with this recipe was the fact that i could not stop eating them. They were so addicting! i tried a variation with peppermint instead of the vanilla but they just weren't the same! stick to the original! i've also found you should not refrigerate it for too long before breaking them into balls as the dough gets very hard. If this happens however, putting it into the microwave for a few seconds worked well for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I loved how easy these were, and they were a huge hit at the office. I put may different coatings on mine: colored sugar, sprinkles, etc. Next time I will add some raspberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, and they turned out to be (to us) little balls of fudgy sugar. They were so sweet and rich we could barely finish one! Not sure if that's what truffles are supposed to be, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States