Luscious Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
the truffles were easy but were not very flavorful. I thought it tasted more like a dense fudge than truffles. I did find that microwaving the mixture for thirty seconds if it was too hard made it much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
These are great. Easy, crowd-pleasing and very attractive and decadent looking. Tips; divide the mixture into four parts and chill separately. They take a while to roll, and while you're making one batch, the rest of the mixture may get soft and sticky. Also, chill in a shallow container so the mixture hardens more evenly (and faster). I used ground pecans, cocoa and medium flaked unsweetened coconut. My friends loved them and thought they had a dozen ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I loved how easy these were, and they were a huge hit at the office. I put may different coatings on mine: colored sugar, sprinkles, etc. Next time I will add some raspberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
These were the best truffles I have ever had! They were a huge hit at my Christmas Party, and my roommate won't stop eating them! They are so rich, and delicious. I recommend this recipe to everyone. If you make these, you will have to make them year round! Just try them, and you will see!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This is a great, but simple recipe! My family has been using this recipe for almost 15 years. We heat it up in the microwave on half power--simple enough for kids to do with supervision and all in one dish! The neighbors, teachers, and grandmas would love them as they were personally made by the kids and given in home made containers! Some of our favorite toppings are powdered sugar, cocoa, crushed peppermint candy canes, and crushed walnuts or hazelnuts grown in our backyard! Don't forget the little paper cups you can purchase at the store--cupcake papers just in bite size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Best truffle recipe! I like to divide the chocolate mix into four even parts and add 1 Tbsp flavoring to each. I've used almond and vanilla extracts; raspberry, orange, irish cream, whiskey and mint liqueurs; and cinnamon and orange oils. I've only heard rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Amazing! I whipped these up last minute for a family gathering. I, however, divided the batch into three sections, and used an entire tablespoon of vanilla in one third, whiskey in another, and a cherry chocolate liquor in the other. I coated half of them in cocoa and the oher half in sprinkles. They were a HUGE hit with every single guest. I am dieting so I didn't try one ::sniff sniff:: but I trust everyone else that they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
i must not know what a truffle is supposed to taste like, because these just tasted like melted chocolate chips in a ball, to me! i agree with another reviewer - very fudgey. i was going to give them as christmas gifts but i couldn't make them look very pretty - i tried rolling them in crushed pecans and also crushed candy canes but they just looked messy. i have more to roll (makes a lot!) so i'll try again. at the suggestion of some other reviewers, i divided into 4 parts: kahlua in one (this was best), chambord in another, vanilla extract in 3rd and almond extract in 4th. oh, also i thought that melting the chips in a double-boiler would be a good thing, but i ended up switching to a regular pot because it was taking waaaay too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
they are quite fudgy. But if you want something easy but still chocolisous this is your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I would have to say these were fantastic. I read all the reviews before making and found them helpful. I did adapt the recipe. I made three flavors: Kahlua, Vanilla, and Cinnamon. The cinnamon were the biggest hit. In Order to make them more authentic truffles... I dipped them in a mixture of almond bark and chocolate ships which made for a nice hard outer shell. Very simple but more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States