Luscious Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made 200 of these truffles for our wedding and WOW. My aunt considers herself THE truffle maker and she couldn’t believe that these weren’t her hard to make million step truffles. I used maple flavoring\extract…yum (make sure you use mapleine in the blue box, the others just have an alcohol flavor, not good.) I dipped each ball in chocolate flavored almond bark that I thinned slightly with a dab of shortening and then drizzled each with a bit of butterscotch almond bark. These were amazingly better than any truffle I could have bought and they looked great too! If you are trying to make these in the summer or when it’s humid it is a little tricky. You will need to freeze (not refrigerate) in small batches. Using a scoop is mandatory whatever time of year, takes the hard work out of rolling. I also found that they were not nearly as creamy when I used store brand milk. Happy Truffle Making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvz2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Sinful! You will not find one person who doesn't love these truffles. They are simple to make and look absolutely opulent when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Awesome i rolled these in crushed peppermint red/white candy for valentines day it was a hit the peppermint added refreshing taste to the chocolate i will absolutely make this again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabelen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Too sweet for my liking, not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I was given this same recipe by a family friend. It also suggested substituting the vanilla with orange liqeur but I didn't have any so I tried it with other flavor extracts and it is very versatile. It is a great recipe. The results are quite rich and I have a friend who wants nothing else but this whenever we go to their house for a party. As far as what to roll them in, in 2006 I printed off the same recipe by Eagle Brand which suggested rolling the truffles in "finely chopped toasted nuts, flaked coconut, chocolate sprinkles, colored sprinkles, unsweetened cocoa powder, confectioners' sugar, or colored sugars". I can no longer find that version on this site. The only one I have tried that didn't turn out well was the confectioners' (powdered) sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Perfect for chocloate cravings. Quick and fun to do with kids. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocoholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very simple and delicious.I used different colored sugars and it makes for a good presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovecakes
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Made them for work and everyone loved them! I rolled some in sprinkles, cocoa, and others in confectionary sugar. Oh. I also poured some melted carmel candy on some. Instead of vanilla extract I used rum flavoring. Same amount. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These didn't do it for me....I spent lots of time on them and I wasn't wow'd. I'll buy them next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Loved this recipe, so easy to make and very yummy too. I also used chopped pecans with some of mine. Kids had so much fun helping make this yummy treat too!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Gene

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States