Luscious Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Oh my goodness!!! This was amazing!! I did a few things to it on my own - I didn't have time to look at other reviews first. I used the Pillsbury crust - to DIE FOR!! I also added some garlic powder - not a lot - but I put it in about everything I make. I also added some dried onions - next time I think I will try to saute real onion with the chicken and brown them both a little bit before putting them in. I also don't have a lot of canned veggies - my husband only likes frozen - so I threw a can of corn in with some frozen veggies that I barely cooked and drained them. I used one can of cream of chicken, and the other can was a creamy herbed chicken (Campbell's). I wasn't too sure of that, but it was great!! I followed the directions on the crust package to cover the rim of the crust after 10 minutes - my husband was asking for leftovers the next night!!!! This was so good even my picky 4 and 2 year olds ate most of it!! Thank you for this MUST HAVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This chicken pot pie was better than I could have imagined! This was my first pot pie and I even made the crust myself! Both a first for me. My wife and I ate over half the pie at one setting. She said it was better than any pot pie she had ever eaten. The only things I changed were adding a little chopped up onion and I used potato soup instead of chicken soup because I love potato soup. I highly recomend this as a great tasting meal in itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Very good. My husband and 4 kids love this. I also sprinkle salt, pepper, garlic and onion and used one can of Cream of Chicken and one can of Cream of Potato soup. I also only use 3 small cans of mixed peas and carrots...it is stuffed otherwise. To make this even easier you can buy cooked chicken in a package. Simple and yummy! Thanks for the recipe Michael
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was a very good basic recipe. I had some left over turkey breast so I used that instead of chicken. I didn't have two cans of Cream of Chicken soup, so I just used one and one can of cream of mushroom. I finely chopped half an onion and two stalks of celery and sauteed them in a couple tablespoons of butter until soft. I also added about 2 teaspoons of minced garlic. I added some thyme, rosemary, parsley and a touch of sage for added flavor. I also used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This is such a great recipe. I substituted one of the cans of soup with a can of cream of potato soup. Just a personal preference. This is GOOD COMFORT FOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This recipe was very easy to make and tasted wonderful. My boyfriend, who is a very picky eater, loved it, he also had several helpings of leftovers which he NEVER does. I used a Tyson roasted chicken instead of the breasts, and I think I like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRE373

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Sapulpa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was not as tasty as I expected, but it was pretty good and very easy. It turned out really well, but it desperately needed some salt. I used healthy request chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
Super easy and delicious. This dish was so popular, I had to make it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
With big chuncks of chicken this is a hearty version of the store-bought kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I would give this 10 stars if I could. Ok - So, you've been looking at chicken pot pie recipes, reading reviews, wondering which one to choose. This one sounds good, but looks so simple that you wonder... Wonder no more - you have got to try it. It is so simple, that you can make it on a work night and seem like you slaved all day. My husband raves - and that is rare. He tells people that they just HAVE to come over to try my pot pie! If they only knew how easy it is. Especially if you cook the chicken the day before or at least have it thawed out (which I never seem to do). I use frozen veggies, store bought pie crusts, and add a few tablespoons of dried minced onion. Oh and about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Thats it. It's great as written as well. But it's so simple that you can play around with it. One day I only had 1 can of cream of chicken. So I used that and one can of cream of mushroom. Still delish. You would be hard pressed to ruin this. So give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States