Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Great idea! My boyfriend was tired of the same sandwich every day and loved that he could have a warm lunch at the job site (construction). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used to do this for my kids, but put hot chicken noodle soup & a cooked hotdog in the thermos. Just tie a piece of dental floss on the end of the hotdog for easy removal. Heck they can even clean their teeth! As if hahaha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Really clever, thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vakia McCoy King

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
What a great idea! My family and I keep kosher and with my son starting school in the fall, I was wondering what I would do when the school has hot dog days (do they still have those?). Now I know! He won't be the only one without. :) Oh, and for the person who gave this a one star rating because it's sooo not nutritious: lighten up! A hot dog once in a while isn't going to kill a kid. Sheesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My mother did something like this. She would sew a double thickness of thread through one end of the hot dog (they must have had thicker skins back then) and feed the hot dog into my thermos. She would then fill it up with soup, generally cream of tomato, and screw on the top with the thread hanging down outside. At lunch time, I would carefully pull the hot dog out, put it in the bun, pull the thread loose and pour the soup. I thought it was mighty fine. GM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
i have done this with frozen raviolis mixed in with pasta sauce, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I started using this idea fifty years ago. My kids were the envy of the lunch table. I included a plastic fork to retrieve the hot dog to avoid burned fingers. A wide mouth thermos works best. Bigger kids can get 2 hot dogs in them. We didn't have mustard packets in those days so I just put the mustard on the bun before I wrapped it. We live in a major league baseball city that allows us to bring in our own food. I cook the hot dogs, warm the buns in the oven in foil. Put the cooked hot dogs inside the buns, rewrap and put in a soft sided cooler to keep warm. The are as good as the vendor hot dogs and a lot cheaper. I've been doing this for about 45 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Now why the heck didnt I think of that ?????????? Thank You !!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Hot dog kept hot this way will taste nasty. The water will remove any flavor the hot dog has by lunch time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I tried this with my son, but I must have messed it up, because he reported back it was soggy and pale (?!) I used our favorite uncured all-beef hotdog, maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States