Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great idea! My 3rd grader came home drunk from the beer that was suggested as a complimentary drink, but other than that, it worked great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I love this one. My daughter is in elementary so, to avoid any mess or fuss at lunch time, after following the directions to heat the thermos I dump out the hot water and grill up the hot dogs (turkey for us) on the stove top and wrap them in foil. She loves being able to have a tasty and fun hot option for lunch. Thanks to Lorrie for sharing. BTW, I hope this is not posting a bunch of times. Seems like I lost my original post when I added a second for clarifcation. My apologies if you've read this already)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
My mom used to pack these for me once a week when I was a kid. Now I bring a couple of dogs to college with me when I need a warm lunch. Cheap college food!!! I make chili-dogs this way too, pour out the first boiling water and then put in the hotdog(s); fill thermos with really hot chili. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
What a smart idea this is! We were able to fit three hot dogs in our average sized thermos. I preheated with boiling water as Lorrie recommended, poured it out, placed three thawed hot dogs and then poured boiling water to the top. My child said they were perfect by lunchtimes and all the kids at the table got a good laugh out of it. Now we have a bet to see how soon other kids will start bringing hotdogs for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I thought this was a good idea, but our sausages had gone a bit soggy by lunchtime. Thank you so much Purple Hippie for your tip of cooking the sausages, wrapping them in foil and then adding to a warmed, but waterless thermos. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
To all of those who responded with "are you kidding me... horrible food choice... blah blah blah". Yes, you are correct, hot dogs are not the most nutritious but on occasion, it can't hurt and you can certainly substitute all kinds of pseudo dogs. I just have to say I love the creative way to do this! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Thank You for the GREAT idea! My daughter will not eat sandwich meat. We use her thermos for lots of things but I never thought of this. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great idea!!! I needed something new for my three high school boys...They thought it was so cool and it filled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLINMARCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Not just for kids lunch boxes- EXCELLENT solution for an off campus college student stuck on campus all day with no access to heating appliances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
what a great idea, kids and Dad love taking this lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pukekohe, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States