Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Like another poster stated I heat the thermos then wrap the hotdog in foil and place in heated thermos. I also send egg and cheese burrtios this way. My older kids loved top ramen so during winter I would send the heated soup in the thermos and the noodles in a tupperware bowl. At lunch all the needed to do was pour the hot soup over the noodles, mix a bit and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
thankyou best switch up idea ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I need a new idea for my almost 9 year old for her school lunch because she was sick of all the normal things I would send her. I was a bit worried that she would make a mess getting the hot dog out but she didn't the hot dog was just the right size for her to put her fingers in and reach it ( I use the bun length hot dogs) I didn't have to send packets of ketchup because they have them at her school already. When she got home she said everyone kept asking where she got her hot dog and she told them what I did. The next day a few kids came to school with it in there lunches. When I went and picked her up from school yesterday her teacher asked how I kept her hot dog warm so she could send it for her kids that are right around the same age I laughed and told her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I send this for my Kindergarten age daughter and she loves it! To makes it easier for her and to make it fit in her smaller thermos, I cut the hotdog in half, then put it into the preheated thermos and then cover in boiling water. I cut her bun in half to match the hot dog and put a bit of ketchup and mustard on it for her at the very last minute before she heads out the door. This way she only needs to use a fork to get the hotdog out and then put it on the prepared bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
WHAT A WONDERFUL IDEA!!!! I have a very picky kindergartener, and she will be so surprised when she gets her lunch on Monday. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
What a great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLoyFam0309

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
what a great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I love this one. My daughter is in elementary so, to avoid any mess or fuss at lunch time, after following the directions to heat the thermos I dump out the hot water and grill up the hot dogs (turkey for us) on the stove top and wrap them in foil. She loves being able to have a tasty and fun hot option for lunch. Thanks to Lorrie for sharing. BTW, I hope this is not posting a bunch of times. Seems like I lost my original post when I added a second for clarifcation. My apologies if you've read this already)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is such an excellent idea! My husband and I travel 12 hours one way when we go home to visit family and get tired of the traditional sandwiches and expensive convenience store foods. I will definitely be preparing this for our upcoming trip for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My friend's dad used to put the hot dog in chicken noodle soup in the thermos. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States