Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Hi! This is my submission. The idea is just a way to have the wiener cook during the morning to be ready for lunch. The bun should be wrapped separately and not placed in or near the water. So the bun is wrapped and goes into your child's lunch. The wiener goes into the thermos. At lunch, they unwrap their bun, remove the wiener and put it into the bun. I hope that is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Okay I thought this was a really good way to send my child to school with a hot meal. I've tried this a couple of times, but the bun always gets all wet when i dump out the water to replace it? I don't know if I'm missing something, but i don't know how to keep the bun from getting soggy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My mom always made this for lunch using the previous night's chili in the thermos. Instant Chili Dog for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
After heating the Thermos, I fill it with hot Spaghettios and the warmed hot dogs cut into bite-sized pieces. Send a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
this is genious. seriously. add the hot dog sauce & onions instead of the boiling water the second time around & throw in a plastic spoon & a bag of chips & soda; good to goooo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great idea! My 3rd grader came home drunk from the beer that was suggested as a complimentary drink, but other than that, it worked great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
great idea!! I am definetly trying this for one of our daughters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good idea!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Another option, if not already mentioned, is to fill the thermos with tomato soup and hang the hot dog in the soup in the thermos. Then you get a tomatoey flavor to the hot dog (like ketchup) and soup to eat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Thanks! I'll be using this one all year and with all of the variations. Oh the things you can do with a thermos! I forgot all about the potential. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi De

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States