Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
GREAT idea! I have been making my kid's lunch's almost daily for 6 years now and have never thought of this! Thanks for sharing your tip! I know what my kid's are getting on Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I have been doing this for my kids for some time now and they just LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My daughter is off to Kindergarten this year. And was trying to think of diff ideas for her lunch so she would not be bored. So we did a test run because I was concerned with her dumping hot water on herself...So I boiled some water and filled the thermos - let it sit for about 20 min with a dog (from fridge not frozen)- dumped out the hot water and wrapped dog in foil and put it back in the preheated thermos - made up her lunchbox as normal and 4 hrs later at lunchtime she sat at the table and went to town. Dog was warm and she thought it was so cool! And dont fret over ur kids eating a hot dog and it not being healthy... Trader Joe's makes Chick/Beef/Turkey dogs with no nitrates! Super low in cals - so u can feel good about switching it up! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
What a creative idea. My kids love this!!! No more of my daughter hiding her pbandj sandwiches behind the bookcase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Great idea! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Fantastic Idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHumes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This is awesome.. Works for hungry hubbys, picnics, and traveling too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
When I first saw this, I thought, "really? Everyone knows how to make a hot dog!" But the thermos idea is ingenious! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
OMG! What I neat idea!!! Can't believe I didn't think of this one! THANK YOU for giving my son a much needed change in his sack lunches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBQME2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I fixed this for our son years ago to take for school lunches. No one (at that time) had ever thought of such a thing so he was definitely very popular. He didn't even want the bun, just apple slices, maybe a few chips. He'd buy milk or take a juice box to drink. One note: I would pour boiling water on the dogs, then seal in the thermos. By lunch, as it cooled, it made quite a seal. Littler kids (or not as strong) might need a bit of help getting that lid off, and whoever does remove should be careful. That water is still pretty hot. His dogs were always steaming hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States