Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
After you dump the hot water, refill with hot chicken noodle soup or chili. The hot dog will still be hot, but you'll also have warm soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
My mom had a twist on this- she would pack the hot dog in boiling-hot chicken noodle soup! Worked a treat, and on a cold winter school day, it was a joy to find in my lunch box. Thanks, Lorrie, for the reminder- my kids will appreciate this! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Works great- I used this for a school picnic where I took lunch for my family. Bag of buns, condiments, thermos and picnic-to-go w/ little clean up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
what a great idea! and i don't even have kids in school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great idea. When my son was little I used to put hot tomato soup in his thermos with a hot dog stuck into it. He ate the dog and drank his soup. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I did this years ago when I packed my husband's lunch. To switch it up, I would make chili sauce and put it in the thermos and put the hot dogs in the chili to stay hot. I would send him small containers of cheese and onions to top the chili dog. He loved his chili dog lunch and his co-workers were jealous! I did this before microwaves were popular. (for the person who said hot dogs are bad for you, what isn't?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Great idea. I am a 79 year senior and when I go out for the day shopping I take a Dietz & Watson smoked hot sausage this way. It is the same size as a hot dog. Beats going to a fast food place. Charlie b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
To all of those who responded with "are you kidding me... horrible food choice... blah blah blah". Yes, you are correct, hot dogs are not the most nutritious but on occasion, it can't hurt and you can certainly substitute all kinds of pseudo dogs. I just have to say I love the creative way to do this! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
GREAT idea! I have been making my kid's lunch's almost daily for 6 years now and have never thought of this! Thanks for sharing your tip! I know what my kid's are getting on Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I have been doing this for my kids for some time now and they just LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States