Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
My Filipina finance loves this recipe! Be very careful with the salt though, if you use what the recipe says it will turn out extremely salty... The salt that is in the soy sauce is already enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
My husband has craved lumpia's ever since he left the Marine Corp.....almost twenty years ago. I decided to make this recipe for him and our card-party guests and it was a HUGE hit! They always ask if we'll be having these at each card party. They were served with banana ketchup, which I've never had and had my doubts about. That, too, was excellent! My only suggestion for this recipe would be to use low-sodium soy sauce and to cut back a little on the salt. This recipe is one that I will use again and again, thanks for sharing it Cristine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious! We followed the suggestions of using just pork and eliminating the salt. Also, we used about 4 tbsp of filling per wrapper (enormous lumpia!) in order to use all the filling with just one package of wrappers. Very tasty, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Great recipe!! My room mate bought me a pastry bag to squeeze out the mix, it saves alot of time. I also quater the warpers to make them bite size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Aside from substituting onion salt (and reducing the salt content) for the regular salt, and adding 1/4 cup sliced green onions, I made NO changes to this recipe. These are excellent!!! I will DEFINITELY make these again (probably weekly)!!! I also used egg roll wrappers instead of spring roll wrappers (didn't have them on hand at the time). I have also found that I can brush them with peanut oil and bake them in a 425 degree oven for 25 min to reduce the fat content, turning the lumpia after 10 minutes. The peanut oil also adds a nice flavor when deep fried. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Mmmm! Only thing I'd do is reduce the salt, we had to add 1/2 lb of meat to make it taste less salty. Hubby loves this recipe and it was so easy and quick to make!! We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I didn't really follow the measurements of the liquid portion of the ingredients to the exact number (I didn't want to taste the uncooked meat) so I had my dad put in whatever he thought was necessary. Anyhow, it was a big hit in the house. I prefer cutting the lumpia wrappers in 4's to make bite size lumpias so you can just pop em in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I love lumpia, but can't find it where I live now. So finding this recipe was great. I used all beef because I forgot to buy the pork, but it was still good. The extra salt is not needed at all. I cooked some when fresh and froze the rest. They work great when fried after being frozen. Just put in hot oil without thawing. Next time I may try adding some veggies to the mix for some variety. These are a lot of work but so worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
All I have to say is INCREDIBLE!!! These taste just as good as any restaurants, if not better! I used just the pork, and added freshly ground ginger,cabbage and omitted the salt. They turned out fabulous! The other recipes I looked at were way too long and time consuming. This one was quick easy and oh so tasty! Will definitely make these again and again. Awesome recipe Christine!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Love this dish! I made my variation w/ ground pork mixed w/ shrimp cut into small pieces, omitted the soy sauce and added finely chopped water chestnuts. If you can't find the sweet chili sauce, you can make a sweet and sour sauce using ketchup, a little vinegar, sugar, cornstarch and water mixed over low heat. It was a hit on my office party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States