Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
These were a big hit at my sons birthday Party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
It was a hit at my husband's pot luck party! They all loved it! I used ground pork and it tasted terrific!! I made another batch for the house, I used ground beef it wasn't as great. I suggest using ground pork. Also, I'd add about 1 tbs of onion powder and maybe 1 tsp of msg. Lessen on the black pepper..maybe just a 1 tsp. 2 1/2 is just way way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
This recipie is great. It is just like the ones the ladies in the kitchen (all Filipinos) make for our work pot-lucks. I had a request from a fellow co-worker to create a chicken version. Through not authentic, diced chicken with just an added drop of seseme seed oil, cooked just like the rest of the recipe, was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
My husband has craved lumpia's ever since he left the Marine Corp.....almost twenty years ago. I decided to make this recipe for him and our card-party guests and it was a HUGE hit! They always ask if we'll be having these at each card party. They were served with banana ketchup, which I've never had and had my doubts about. That, too, was excellent! My only suggestion for this recipe would be to use low-sodium soy sauce and to cut back a little on the salt. This recipe is one that I will use again and again, thanks for sharing it Cristine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
My Filipina finance loves this recipe! Be very careful with the salt though, if you use what the recipe says it will turn out extremely salty... The salt that is in the soy sauce is already enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This recipe is great, but there is no need for the additional salt because the soy sauce has a lot of sodium. Also, if you like garlic, use fresh crushed garlic instead. I tend to use ground beef instead of ground pork because the ground pork takes longer to cook, and when I make a huge batch of these, I don't have time to make sure the pork is cooked well and at the same time the lumpia wrapper is not burnt! My extra ingredient that gives the taste a special twist is to use sesame oil too. I use sesame oil that's more an asian style, and it has a strong scent, but a lot of people will say it tastes good and ask what that extra ingredient is. I also add an egg as well. This recipe is good w/sweet and sour sauce or w/soy sauce and a little vinegar for dipping.Another good sauce to eat with this is Thai sweet chili sauce for a little hint of spice. OH YEAH ..they're great for freezing in case you have unexpected guests... like the other reviewer said, you don't need to thaw before frying, just be careful of oil spatter.. don't turn the heat too high or it will burn quickly while the middle is still frozen. a tip i got from my cousin is that if you are freezing them, spray the bag or container you keep them in with baking spray and lay your lumpia down , then spray the lumpia too so they don't stick to each other while frozen...and when you take out to fry, they're not stuck in one big lump! ENJOY...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I left out the added salt completely, added garlic and they were great. I divided the mixture in half and added ginger and shredded carrots to one half of it for a variety. The smaller egg roll wrappers make far more than 20 servings, depending on the size of the serving. Next time I will use less hamburger and more pork. The hamburger flavor overpowered the pork. Excellent base recipe to start from. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I love lumpia, but can't find it where I live now. So finding this recipe was great. I used all beef because I forgot to buy the pork, but it was still good. The extra salt is not needed at all. I cooked some when fresh and froze the rest. They work great when fried after being frozen. Just put in hot oil without thawing. Next time I may try adding some veggies to the mix for some variety. These are a lot of work but so worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
All I have to say is INCREDIBLE!!! These taste just as good as any restaurants, if not better! I used just the pork, and added freshly ground ginger,cabbage and omitted the salt. They turned out fabulous! The other recipes I looked at were way too long and time consuming. This one was quick easy and oh so tasty! Will definitely make these again and again. Awesome recipe Christine!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Great recipe!! My room mate bought me a pastry bag to squeeze out the mix, it saves alot of time. I also quater the warpers to make them bite size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States