Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Lacked flavor and the texture was not what I was use to in lumpia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
It was a bit too 'meaty' for me...I'm more used to springrolls with more veggetables in it and more spice... Next time I'll try substitue half of the meat for bamboo shoots or vermicelli...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious! We followed the suggestions of using just pork and eliminating the salt. Also, we used about 4 tbsp of filling per wrapper (enormous lumpia!) in order to use all the filling with just one package of wrappers. Very tasty, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Delicious! I would cut back on the salt, though. I used gyoza wrappers and had tons of leftover filling (probably more than half), so I would either buy 2 packages gyoza wrappers, or make half the filling if you wanted to go that route. They were great little bite sized yummies for us to have while opening Christmas presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I didn't really follow the measurements of the liquid portion of the ingredients to the exact number (I didn't want to taste the uncooked meat) so I had my dad put in whatever he thought was necessary. Anyhow, it was a big hit in the house. I prefer cutting the lumpia wrappers in 4's to make bite size lumpias so you can just pop em in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Aside from substituting onion salt (and reducing the salt content) for the regular salt, and adding 1/4 cup sliced green onions, I made NO changes to this recipe. These are excellent!!! I will DEFINITELY make these again (probably weekly)!!! I also used egg roll wrappers instead of spring roll wrappers (didn't have them on hand at the time). I have also found that I can brush them with peanut oil and bake them in a 425 degree oven for 25 min to reduce the fat content, turning the lumpia after 10 minutes. The peanut oil also adds a nice flavor when deep fried. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This was a great recipe, although I recommend not adding any salt because the soy sauce makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Mmmm! Only thing I'd do is reduce the salt, we had to add 1/2 lb of meat to make it taste less salty. Hubby loves this recipe and it was so easy and quick to make!! We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Love this dish! I made my variation w/ ground pork mixed w/ shrimp cut into small pieces, omitted the soy sauce and added finely chopped water chestnuts. If you can't find the sweet chili sauce, you can make a sweet and sour sauce using ketchup, a little vinegar, sugar, cornstarch and water mixed over low heat. It was a hit on my office party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Great recipe. Tasted just like the lumpia I ate growing up. Just need to find the perfect dipping sauce for it, then I'm in heaven! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States