Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Very good recipe but I didn't have spring roll wrappers so had to use wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by LaMiaItalia
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
AMAZING!!! way better than our favorite place here!!! I used only pork and lumpia wraps (I found them at my regular grocery store non problem). Thanks for the recipe. I have been cooking Italian food for a few people in exchange for some lumpias but never got them back from them :( well, now I do not need them, I can make them myself!!! they are super easy and super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingfor7
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
great recipe. now i don't have to bug my philipino friends to make them for me. i made them and froze them so they were on hand when i needed them. just go from freezer to hot oil. so good......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I love lumpiang shanghai, and this is a good recipe. However, I definitely only use ground pork because the beef is too heavy, in my opinion. I also add minced water chestnuts, and that gives a little more texture. I have used green onions in place of regular onions, too, and either way has been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quezon City, Quezon, Philippines
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
yessss. finally someone else who makes the lumpia with just the meat =D!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I am filipino and this recipes reminded me of home. I made a few changes though....I used actual lumpia wrappers intead of spring roll wrappers. They're harder to find, but they change the texture. It's a little crunchier and the paper is a little thinner (which is a bit truer to what it should be). However, if you do this you need to use an egg as a way to close the wrapper. I as well only put one tablespoon of salt. Other than that....it was great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
yummy, but a little bland. They were quick and pretty easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This recipe is good but called for way too much salt! Next time I'll be sure to use a little less, but otherwise it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisman, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
These were good! The only thing I changed was.. I added raisins and sprinkled some cayenne pepper to the mixture. This gave it a very unique flavor that everyone loved! Next time I will cook the mixture first.. I like my spring/egg rolls stuffed with mixture.. that's hard to do when the meat is uncooked at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This is a very good recipe. My grandmother on my fathers side was of Chinese/Pacific Islander and she always made things like Lumpias (we grew up calling them wontons due to the fact that we used wonton wrappers lol) and kim chee just because of the places she grew up and the influences on her cooking. This recipe is less extravagent than hers but its fairly the same idea. I always did enjoy her cooking as a kid and even though wrappers to absorb plenty of grease this is a simple recipe that creates a fantastic finger food. I like to add green onion, lots of fresh garlic (crushed) as well as the powder, and I use pork/beef combo going heavier on the pork. And of course wonton wrappers :) Good recipe. Simple and enjoyable if maybe a little unhealthy haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States