Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was the closest to my mother's and aunt's lumpia I have tasted. I would cut back on the salt quite a bit and I tried the spring roll wrappers (rice flour/tapioca wraps) and they did not turn out. I need to find actual lumpia wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are great with sweet chili sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I substituted the ground beef for additional ground pork and omitted the grated carrots. My family throught it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great recipe I think that beef/pork lumpia is one of the best versions. I usually steam some white rice and add it in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godiva Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very good recipe. Omit the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Very good recipe but I didn't have spring roll wrappers so had to use wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by LaMiaItalia
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
AMAZING!!! way better than our favorite place here!!! I used only pork and lumpia wraps (I found them at my regular grocery store non problem). Thanks for the recipe. I have been cooking Italian food for a few people in exchange for some lumpias but never got them back from them :( well, now I do not need them, I can make them myself!!! they are super easy and super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingfor7
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
great recipe. now i don't have to bug my philipino friends to make them for me. i made them and froze them so they were on hand when i needed them. just go from freezer to hot oil. so good......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I love lumpiang shanghai, and this is a good recipe. However, I definitely only use ground pork because the beef is too heavy, in my opinion. I also add minced water chestnuts, and that gives a little more texture. I have used green onions in place of regular onions, too, and either way has been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quezon City, Quezon, Philippines
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States