Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Love it, I just added more garlic and onion to mine for more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bajablueangel0116

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Yummo! Even better reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEDS678

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have been making lumpia for years now using all pork, all ground beef and even all ground turkey for the filling. The pork filled lumpia came in first for taste with the ground turkey coming in second. Check the lumpia wrappers for mold before you check out in the grocery store. Experience has taught me that the lumpia wrappers either need to be used almost immediately or frozen for future use as soon as you get them home. They mold easily and I have bought my fair share of unchecked moldy wrappers home. It is really important to only put about a pinkie's worth of filling in each wrapper as these cook up pretty quickly and you want to make sure these are done completely. Sometimes I cheat using store bought shredded carrot and cabbage cole slaw mixture and a half a medium onion for the vegetables. Oh and dont forget to pull all of the wrappers apart before you start rolling (a huge time saver). Just remember to cover them back up with a dry dishcloth as to prevent drying out while rolling. I always create an assembly line using about 7 wrappers at a time quickly stuffing, rolling then sealing them. Sweet Chilli Sauce is a must have for dipping. It can usually be found next to the sweet and sour sauce of any grocery store while the wrappers can be found in the frozen section. Both can be found at just about any international grocery store. Cook some lumpia now and freeze the rest for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Wonderful! I love the sweet carrot to balance the saltiness of the soy. But I prefer a shred to a grate to give more texture and color. And getting the lumpia into uniform shape takes a bit of practice! But SO worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
The flavor is outstanding and very authentic! The only criticism I have is that if you are indeed going to use spring roll wrappers, you need to brush them with olive oil and bake instead. If you fry them, they are likely to not meet your expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was the closest to my mother's and aunt's lumpia I have tasted. I would cut back on the salt quite a bit and I tried the spring roll wrappers (rice flour/tapioca wraps) and they did not turn out. I need to find actual lumpia wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are great with sweet chili sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I substituted the ground beef for additional ground pork and omitted the grated carrots. My family throught it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great recipe I think that beef/pork lumpia is one of the best versions. I usually steam some white rice and add it in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godiva Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States