Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I think one ingredient that is definitley missing is FISH SAUCE! Replace the salt with 1 tablespoon of fish sauce. Also, test your filling by cooking a little in a pan to adjust the seasoning before you roll! I always use a combo of proteins, I've done shrimp and chicken, chicken and beef, pork and shrimp, pork and chicken etc. I like to get one lean and one fatty meat to balance out flavors and textures. Another secret for THE BEST TASTING FILLING IS to add a dash of sweet chilli sauce. The sugar and peppers in it balance everything out! Also be a bit sparing with the soy! 1/4 cup is waaay too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. I would omit the salt, though. You can also add chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
these were good make sure to use good quality meats. you may want to use salt free soy sauce or they may be a little salty for those who dont care for salty flavors. be sure not to put too much meat in or it will not cook all the way and the outside will burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These are awesome. I followed the recipe exactly. Took them to a work carry in and everyone wanted to know the recipe. Gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Watson
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
all I have to say is YUMM. I added some fresh parsley as a Filipino friend does. I think next time I may add a bit of chopped cabbage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Easy recipe, but time consuming - and well worth it. This was my first attempt at lumpia..the kids were eating them as fast as I could cook them! I added some chopped green onion to the filling and used fresh garlic instead of powder (3 cloves) and used only ground pork (my preference). Didn't use much salt..as the soy sauce has plenty for my liking. Paired with sweet thai chili sauce - quite addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This recipe was GREAT! BUTTT I did add the 2T. of salt and they were sooo salty no one in my house ate them! I had to add more meat to my leftover meat to be able to cook the rest. BUt I look forward to making them again with less salt :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Turned out well. I mixed the ingredients in a gallon sized resealable plastic bag and cut a hole in one corner so that I could squeeze the mixture onto the wrapper. Next time I plan to use fresh garlic instead of the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I had a very good friend from Thailand who made these for me once. I begged her to make me some more and she made me about 50 of them, that I kept in my freezer and pulled out whenever... she has since moved away and I lost touch with her, but I stumbled upon this recipe (yay!)... I used a Lb of ground beef, and a Lb of ground pork. I followed the recipe exact, but I added 2 tsps. of sesame seed oil, for that nutty flavor, and also added some bean sprouts to the meat mixture as well (because I remember the ones my friend made had bean sprouts in them), and it adds a extra 'crunch'. this is a very good recipe. can't wait to make these again but I will make sure to save enough to stash in the freezer for a quick appetizer ;)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I didn't use any pork, only beef. I used a bit more carrot and onion. They turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1tsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States