Lumpia - Filipino Shrimp and Pork Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe although I cooked the filling before using it in the lumpia to assure the pork was cooked. This allowed me to use the color of the spring roll shell to tell me when the lumpia was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I'm half Filipino and have made all sorts of lumpias and have chosen this one for my cooking class final my senior year and got an A+ for the class!!! :-) teachers and classmates loved it :-) I pretty much followed the recipe only added one ingredient to it, I added bean sprouts to the recipe tasted really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I question not cooking the pork prior to rolling the lumpia. I have been making lumpia for years and alway cook the pork and vegatables prior to putting the filling in the wrappers. That way, I ensure the pork is properly cooked and I don't have to cook it so long in the hot oil. Just long enough brown the wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These are fantastic! I omitted the MSG and kept everything the same. I also cut the wrappers in half diagonally and wrapped it like that. It still had plenty of wrapper. I am going to be making these again and again. My husband could not get enough of these. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzieslittleliah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
im a filipina living here right now in the united states. and yes you this dish is very popular in the philippines and goes really good with sweet and sour or just katchup. i even sometimes use ground beef or rice sticks noodles with chicken shrimp and veges..my husband always loved it whatever i stuffed in there as long as its seasoned well. you can also add raisins on it if u like for a little sweetess. and by the way you dont have to waste an egg, just use water to seal the wrapper...goes good too. and you can make a thick filling if you saute the filling first or just put thin raw filling. really good try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
these area amazingly addictive. highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
WAS REALLY GREAT ! I FRIED ALL MY INGREDIENTS TOGETHER AND THEN PUT THEM IN THE WRAP !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great lumpia recipe! Easy to customize by adding the same quantities of your preferred veggies. Makes more than enough for a crowd and the cooked lumpia freeze well for reheating later. Just be sure that your oil temp is 375 or under or they wrappers will cook faster than the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
these are best when served with the sweet and spicy sauce! One of my first true filipino foods that I ever tried, and I am a picky eater! I know the woman that made them for me used different filling but its whatever you want to put in it!! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States