Lucy's Quick Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I think this could be used as a substitute for BBQ sauce, but it didn't taste anything like tonkatsu sauce to me. I was disappointed with the flavor. I ended up using a more simple recipe that used ketchup, worcestershire, oyster sauce and sugar... and that one tasted like the real thing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very pleased with this katsu sauce. We are fans of bulldog sauce also, but thought this was a great substitute in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Very good. On occasion I used to have this dish at a little hole in the wall gem called Azuma at 16123 S Western Ave, Gardena, CA. I used the sauce on the familiar dish of pork cutlets breaded with the standard flour, egg and panko breadcrumbs. The "no thank you" persons at the table were converted by the meal's end. Ha! Sides were shredded cabbage with a dressing of light mayo/very small amount of ketchup added, rice and peas. Don't laugh at the cabbage dressing combo til you try it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Really close to authentic katsu sauce I've had before. I know it's just a little off, but not sure how to mod it for true authenticity. However, It is a delicious sauce, and my family, who had never had chicken katsu before, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IateNoahspigs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I've never had Tonkatsu before, and this recipe isn't going to make me want to try it again. I suppose I'm just not a Tonkatsu fan, however, DH liked it, so it didn't go to waste. I served it with Katsu Chicken, jasmine rice, and steamed broccoli. Overall, it wasn't inedible, but nothing I'll be trying again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good enough to put Ki****an out of business! Did not have sherry, so I used marsala wine instead, and it worked out just fine. I can't believe just how incredibly easy this is to make, and like Lucy said, all from stuff you already have in the kitchen. My Tonkatsu sauce buying days are behind me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I've never had Tonkatsu sauce so I have nothing to compare this to but it was delicious! I didn't heat mine in the micro but rather, simmered on the stove for about 20 mins. so the flavors could meld. Absolutely loved it although my other half would prefer a touch less ketchup. What does he know, lol. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was too easy and tasted great. Makes it 5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty fantastic tasting sauce, and I'm a huge bottled sauce fan! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Good base but needed some tweaking. I'm a Bulldog Tonkatsu Sauce fan. My next batch, I think I will use 3/4 c. ketchup and 1/4 c. either apricot or plum puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States