Lucy's Quick Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This went wonderfully with the tonkatsu recipe found on this site. Substituted rice vinegar for the dry sherry since I didn't have any in my pantry. But oh man, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Delicious! I used the apple cider vinegar as Angela did - it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Based on the most helpful review by laxgmom, I upped the ketchup to 3/4 cup and followed everything else pretty much to a T. It tastes like some of the best Katsu sauce I've every had and I only had an hour to let it rest. I think I'll try it again, a couple of days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zill yzil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimmie Ann
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this for supper tonight and having had the real thing in Japan, I must admit it was very close It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great tonkatsu sauce! Just like at the best Japanese restaurants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made my first batch last night on a whim. I didn't have dry sherry so substituted apple cider vinegar. It was hard to leave it sitting for an hour for the flavors to meld because the first taste after stirring/heating was really good! This is a definite keeper! I might try adding additional ground ginger or a dash of hot sauce/ground cayenne next time for a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I let this sit for only a half hour before using it and the Worcestershire sauce was mighty strong. The next day it had mellowed, but I'd probably reduce the WS to 2T or even less. Good sauce though! It got me out of a jam when I made Chicken Katsu then realized I had no sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I think this could be used as a substitute for BBQ sauce, but it didn't taste anything like tonkatsu sauce to me. I was disappointed with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very pleased with this katsu sauce. We are fans of bulldog sauce also, but thought this was a great substitute in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Very good. On occasion I used to have this dish at a little hole in the wall gem called Azuma at 16123 S Western Ave, Gardena, CA. I used the sauce on the familiar dish of pork cutlets breaded with the standard flour, egg and panko breadcrumbs. The "no thank you" persons at the table were converted by the meal's end. Ha! Sides were shredded cabbage with a dressing of light mayo/very small amount of ketchup added, rice and peas. Don't laugh at the cabbage dressing combo til you try it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States