Lucy's Quick Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty fantastic tasting sauce, and I'm a huge bottled sauce fan! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Very good. On occasion I used to have this dish at a little hole in the wall gem called Azuma at 16123 S Western Ave, Gardena, CA. I used the sauce on the familiar dish of pork cutlets breaded with the standard flour, egg and panko breadcrumbs. The "no thank you" persons at the table were converted by the meal's end. Ha! Sides were shredded cabbage with a dressing of light mayo/very small amount of ketchup added, rice and peas. Don't laugh at the cabbage dressing combo til you try it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good enough to put Ki****an out of business! Did not have sherry, so I used marsala wine instead, and it worked out just fine. I can't believe just how incredibly easy this is to make, and like Lucy said, all from stuff you already have in the kitchen. My Tonkatsu sauce buying days are behind me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was too easy and tasted great. Makes it 5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I've never had Tonkatsu sauce so I have nothing to compare this to but it was delicious! I didn't heat mine in the micro but rather, simmered on the stove for about 20 mins. so the flavors could meld. Absolutely loved it although my other half would prefer a touch less ketchup. What does he know, lol. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Really close to authentic katsu sauce I've had before. I know it's just a little off, but not sure how to mod it for true authenticity. However, It is a delicious sauce, and my family, who had never had chicken katsu before, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IateNoahspigs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very pleased with this katsu sauce. We are fans of bulldog sauce also, but thought this was a great substitute in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Lucy you hit the ball out of the park with this ton katsu sauce - better than the rather expensive Japanese bottled version. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made my first batch last night on a whim. I didn't have dry sherry so substituted apple cider vinegar. It was hard to leave it sitting for an hour for the flavors to meld because the first taste after stirring/heating was really good! This is a definite keeper! I might try adding additional ground ginger or a dash of hot sauce/ground cayenne next time for a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great tonkatsu sauce! Just like at the best Japanese restaurants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States