Lucy's Quick Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Good base but needed some tweaking. I'm a Bulldog Tonkatsu Sauce fan. My next batch, I think I will use 3/4 c. ketchup and 1/4 c. either apricot or plum puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Lucy you hit the ball out of the park with this ton katsu sauce - better than the rather expensive Japanese bottled version. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty fantastic tasting sauce, and I'm a huge bottled sauce fan! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good enough to put Ki****an out of business! Did not have sherry, so I used marsala wine instead, and it worked out just fine. I can't believe just how incredibly easy this is to make, and like Lucy said, all from stuff you already have in the kitchen. My Tonkatsu sauce buying days are behind me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I've never had Tonkatsu sauce so I have nothing to compare this to but it was delicious! I didn't heat mine in the micro but rather, simmered on the stove for about 20 mins. so the flavors could meld. Absolutely loved it although my other half would prefer a touch less ketchup. What does he know, lol. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made my first batch last night on a whim. I didn't have dry sherry so substituted apple cider vinegar. It was hard to leave it sitting for an hour for the flavors to meld because the first taste after stirring/heating was really good! This is a definite keeper! I might try adding additional ground ginger or a dash of hot sauce/ground cayenne next time for a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I let this sit for only a half hour before using it and the Worcestershire sauce was mighty strong. The next day it had mellowed, but I'd probably reduce the WS to 2T or even less. Good sauce though! It got me out of a jam when I made Chicken Katsu then realized I had no sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very pleased with this katsu sauce. We are fans of bulldog sauce also, but thought this was a great substitute in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Really close to authentic katsu sauce I've had before. I know it's just a little off, but not sure how to mod it for true authenticity. However, It is a delicious sauce, and my family, who had never had chicken katsu before, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IateNoahspigs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I've never had Tonkatsu before, and this recipe isn't going to make me want to try it again. I suppose I'm just not a Tonkatsu fan, however, DH liked it, so it didn't go to waste. I served it with Katsu Chicken, jasmine rice, and steamed broccoli. Overall, it wasn't inedible, but nothing I'll be trying again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States