Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I need to add that I made a couple of changes. I use real shredded cheese straight from the freezer and I cut the butter in half. Make sure you add the whole kernel corn with its water, it cooks the macaroni and comes out wonderful and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO COOK THE NOODLES BEFORE!!! Don't drain the corn and it will give you plenty of liquid to cook the noodles as they bake. I was hesitant to cook them or not to cook them beforehand because I was having guests over, but I took the chance and didn't cook them before, and it was perfect. While it is cooking during the first 30 minutes covered, it will be very runny and soupy, but it will thicken up during the second 30 min with the lid off. I used margarine instead of butter, I feel like it was not too much butter at all, but if you want it to be a little healthier I feel you could use probably about half the amount and be okay. This was such an easy recipe to make I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesliejade1985

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This recipe is so good! A woman from my church introduced me to it and I thought it seemed gross, but I tried it and it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Do not drain the corn and don't cook the macaroni first! I followed the directions exactly except doubled it and put in crock pot instead of oven and this was the best Mac and cheese ever! First thing gone at the potluck! Will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Our family has used this recipe for a long time - it's a favorite! I use the whole box of Creamettes large rings instead of the macaroni, and like another lady suggested, use the whole can of corn including the liquid. It's awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious!!! The only change I made was to use 1/2 stick of butter. I did not cook the macaroni first and it was perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was great, loved it, only I cut the butter in half so that it wouldn't be greasy, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
We cooked the macaroni first and reduced the butter by half. It is wonderful! We have made it numerous times. Thanks for sharing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Cafeteria food is definitely the right description, but it's not good cafeteria food. I couldn't even taste the cheese, the sauce just tasted like buttery corn and seemed really salty even though I used unsalted butter and my regular can of corn was also "no salt." I suppose if you love creamed corn you'll probably like it, but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Byszkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made this as written with no substitutions (as I think an honest and constructive 1st cooking/review require) thinking it would be easy and kid-friendly. Sorry, I was not impressed and I don't believe tweaking would benefit. The macaroni doesn't get uniformly done and while neither the butter nor the velv**ta should be too much for this quantity of other ingredients cooked in a more conventional way; in this dish one or both ended up in floating, greasy puddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States