Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Have made this 3 times in the last month. Very addicting. I used 1/4 cup of butter as 1/2 seemed way too much. The 11.25 oz can of corn didn't have much liquid as I expected so I added 1/4 cup of water. Didn't need salt but added a bunch of ground pepper. This is a favorite for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Reynolds, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I've made a similar recipe for a long time!! The only difference is I use American cheese that's I've cut up rather than a processed cheese food. My family loves this dish and anyone I've ever shared it with has asked for the recipe. :) It goes wonderfully with many main dishes. As a side note - you do NOT drain the corn for this recipe and you do NOT need to cook the pasta prior to baking. This is a classic dump in it dish and the oven does all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I lovepd this recipe but I added seasoned salt and pepper and cooked, cubed chicken breasts (another time I added cooked, cubed ham) and made it a whole meal. Also, I did cook the noodles for a few minutes first. It was one of the best dishes I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I need to add that I made a couple of changes. I use real shredded cheese straight from the freezer and I cut the butter in half. Make sure you add the whole kernel corn with its water, it cooks the macaroni and comes out wonderful and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO COOK THE NOODLES BEFORE!!! Don't drain the corn and it will give you plenty of liquid to cook the noodles as they bake. I was hesitant to cook them or not to cook them beforehand because I was having guests over, but I took the chance and didn't cook them before, and it was perfect. While it is cooking during the first 30 minutes covered, it will be very runny and soupy, but it will thicken up during the second 30 min with the lid off. I used margarine instead of butter, I feel like it was not too much butter at all, but if you want it to be a little healthier I feel you could use probably about half the amount and be okay. This was such an easy recipe to make I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesliejade1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This recipe is so good! A woman from my church introduced me to it and I thought it seemed gross, but I tried it and it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Do not drain the corn and don't cook the macaroni first! I followed the directions exactly except doubled it and put in crock pot instead of oven and this was the best Mac and cheese ever! First thing gone at the potluck! Will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Our family has used this recipe for a long time - it's a favorite! I use the whole box of Creamettes large rings instead of the macaroni, and like another lady suggested, use the whole can of corn including the liquid. It's awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious!!! The only change I made was to use 1/2 stick of butter. I did not cook the macaroni first and it was perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was great, loved it, only I cut the butter in half so that it wouldn't be greasy, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States