Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
i have made this recipe many times, but i find you do have to cook the macaroni ahead of time or it will turn out chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J HUTCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Loved this recipe. I went ahead and just boiled my macaroni till done. I also microwaved the cream corn, drained the whole corn and added the cheese and butter and heated till cheese melted. When noodles were done I added them together and made the same recipe alot faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
With just a few changes this recipe is awesome! DEFINITELY cook the pasta first, then add butter and cheese. Stir to allow some melting. Then add the corns. This cut the cooking time to 15 minutes covered and 15 minutes uncovered (I added some milk and stirred before the last 15 minutes). I did reduce the butter a little. I used some leftovers from the Best Slow Cooker Creamed Corn recipe. This recipe is very adaptable. I used the cheeses I had which was some American slices and some grated Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
This was so good! I made it because I wanted to see what it was like, and it is like my favorite food now, My parents love it too! You don't necessarily have to have velveeta cheese, any cheese works well. It works well for the main meal, or also as a side dish, It was also really cool to find something that my nephews would actually eat since that rarely happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
WOW WHAT A GREAT DISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This recipes was very good for a church soup kitchen the people enjoy it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I use this recipe all of the time, is great for gatherings and my kids love it. Last time I doubled the recipe and cooked in a 9 x 13 pan. I always reduce the butter and used about 3/4 of what it calls for. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This recipe is one of our family favorites -- with the addition of 2 tablespoons each of chopped onion and green pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I made this and added a little dried chopped onion and was very delighted with it, an unusual dish for my family, but this won them over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Swainey Varner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirksville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This dish is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States