Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
With just a few changes this recipe is awesome! DEFINITELY cook the pasta first, then add butter and cheese. Stir to allow some melting. Then add the corns. This cut the cooking time to 15 minutes covered and 15 minutes uncovered (I added some milk and stirred before the last 15 minutes). I did reduce the butter a little. I used some leftovers from the Best Slow Cooker Creamed Corn recipe. This recipe is very adaptable. I used the cheeses I had which was some American slices and some grated Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as indicated, and it turned out perfectly. It reminds me of a dish my Grandma made, similar to scalloped corn. I am giving this a 4-star rating, simply because it is not convenient to cook it for an hour total, as the recipe indicates. A person would have to make modifications like pre-cooking the macaroni in order for it to be a more time efficient dish. However, it tastes wonderful, and my husband and 5-year old daughter LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
As is, I give this a four. If you cook the pasta beforehand, and melt the butter and cheese together, and then mix everything and bake for about 40 minutes, it is a five. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This dish is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I made this and added a little dried chopped onion and was very delighted with it, an unusual dish for my family, but this won them over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirksville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This recipe is one of our family favorites -- with the addition of 2 tablespoons each of chopped onion and green pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
i have made this recipe many times, but i find you do have to cook the macaroni ahead of time or it will turn out chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J HUTCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I THOUGHT my kids would love this dish. We ended up calling for a pizza. I followed the directions to a T. The macaroni was undercooked. The cheese and butter made the dish greasy and it just didn't set right. I won't be making this again, sorry Lucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I use this recipe all of the time, is great for gatherings and my kids love it. Last time I doubled the recipe and cooked in a 9 x 13 pan. I always reduce the butter and used about 3/4 of what it calls for. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Loved this recipe. I went ahead and just boiled my macaroni till done. I also microwaved the cream corn, drained the whole corn and added the cheese and butter and heated till cheese melted. When noodles were done I added them together and made the same recipe alot faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States