Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Made this for thanksgiving, used extra sharp cheddar instead of velveeta. This was so good. Let me repeat SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKEFI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keystone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made one unintentional change to this recipe. I accidentally picked up 2 cans of creamed corn rather than 1 of creamed and 1 of whole kernel. It still turned out delicious. I was torn about whether to precook the macaroni because about half of the reviewers were adamant that you should and the other half said definitely do not. I decided to follow the recipe exactly and NOT precook. The macaroni was done to perfection. It's a mystery to me how we can all follow the same recipe, cook it at the same temp for the same length of time, and some get done and some do not. But my recommendation is to NOT precook it. Just adds to the time required to prepare and the number of dishes to wash. The one thing I will try next time is using less butter. While the dish wasn't at all greasy, I just keep thinking about how much fat is in a full stick of butter, even though I used light butter. We won't eat this too often because it's loaded with carbs, but it's a great dish to serve the grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
WOW WOW WOW I love this! Little changes here: I precooked the macaroni and cut the butter to half a stick. Otherwise, followed the recipe to a "t". A new favorite at our house! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Five star with modifications as follows. After reading reviews, I did a few things to create a bit healthier recipe without losing flavor. 1) Cut butter to 3/4 stick. 2) Use whole-wheat macaroni, and yes, pre-cook it. 3)use the drained off corn water as part of the water to pre-cook noodles for extra nutritional value. 4) Lastly, for part of the cheese, use fat-free shredded cheese and for the other half use regular shredded cheese in lieu of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought this was a barely-OK dish. I made it exactly as written. Unfortunately I did drain the can of corn (I noticed after the fact that many reviewers said not to do so). And I've never seen 11.25 oz. cans of corn, so I measured out part of a 15.25 oz. can. For the "buttered" dish, I used a little canola oil cooking spray. After baking for the specified time, the macaroni was slightly undercooked. Worst of all, the dish was pretty oily (from the butter, I think). The flavor was kind of good, but if I were to make this again, besides maybe precooking the macaroni, I might double the cheese and halve the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Absolutely delicious! My brother loves macaroni and cheese but usually refuses to eat corn, yet he inhales this dish! I put 4 slices of cheese on top after the first 30 minutes in order to give even more cheesiness Definately a good recipes for kids, but also for adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe has been in my family for years. Our version also calls for 2 T. each of finely chopped green pepper & onion. Also, don't drain the corn. Bake it for the first 30 minutes covered, then stir well and remove the top for the last 30 minutes. No need to cook the macaroni and it thickens as it stands. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
YUMMO! Super Easy and always a crowd pleaser. You should NOT drain the corn - the liquid will cook the noodles. Also, I typically make in a crockpot, on low for about 3-4 hours. My family has been making this recipe for the last 10 years and once someone has it, they EXPECT that we bring it to the next potluck. It has become a staple at holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was a BIG hit with my family! But I also made a few changes. I cooked the noodles first and then added only 2 TBSP of butter and a splash of milk. I also heated everything on the stove. I melted 2 TBSP of butter with 1/2 to 3/4 cup of Cornflake Crumbs for topping!! I kept the temp at 350 for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I've made this several times and it is a favorite for family get-togethers. The kids love it and it's so easy. I do pre-cook the macaroni about 4-5 minutes to shorten the time in the oven to 30 minutes and it also cuts down the starchy taste. I also use shredded sharp cheddar instead of velveeta, and sprinkle an additional 1/4 cup on top. It's a winner, and based on other reviews, next time I will try with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States