Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
this was pretty good, added a little milk to make it creamier and some salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I just made this recipe for my family Christmas gathering. It was the biggest hit! My niece went for seconds and was very angry to find an empty pan. I did make my own changes, I cut the butter in half and add a little more cheese and some milk. It was a major hit and so easy to make. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Made this for thanksgiving, used extra sharp cheddar instead of velveeta. This was so good. Let me repeat SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKEFI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keystone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made one unintentional change to this recipe. I accidentally picked up 2 cans of creamed corn rather than 1 of creamed and 1 of whole kernel. It still turned out delicious. I was torn about whether to precook the macaroni because about half of the reviewers were adamant that you should and the other half said definitely do not. I decided to follow the recipe exactly and NOT precook. The macaroni was done to perfection. It's a mystery to me how we can all follow the same recipe, cook it at the same temp for the same length of time, and some get done and some do not. But my recommendation is to NOT precook it. Just adds to the time required to prepare and the number of dishes to wash. The one thing I will try next time is using less butter. While the dish wasn't at all greasy, I just keep thinking about how much fat is in a full stick of butter, even though I used light butter. We won't eat this too often because it's loaded with carbs, but it's a great dish to serve the grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
WOW WOW WOW I love this! Little changes here: I precooked the macaroni and cut the butter to half a stick. Otherwise, followed the recipe to a "t". A new favorite at our house! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Five star with modifications as follows. After reading reviews, I did a few things to create a bit healthier recipe without losing flavor. 1) Cut butter to 3/4 stick. 2) Use whole-wheat macaroni, and yes, pre-cook it. 3)use the drained off corn water as part of the water to pre-cook noodles for extra nutritional value. 4) Lastly, for part of the cheese, use fat-free shredded cheese and for the other half use regular shredded cheese in lieu of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought this was a barely-OK dish. I made it exactly as written. Unfortunately I did drain the can of corn (I noticed after the fact that many reviewers said not to do so). And I've never seen 11.25 oz. cans of corn, so I measured out part of a 15.25 oz. can. For the "buttered" dish, I used a little canola oil cooking spray. After baking for the specified time, the macaroni was slightly undercooked. Worst of all, the dish was pretty oily (from the butter, I think). The flavor was kind of good, but if I were to make this again, besides maybe precooking the macaroni, I might double the cheese and halve the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Absolutely delicious! My brother loves macaroni and cheese but usually refuses to eat corn, yet he inhales this dish! I put 4 slices of cheese on top after the first 30 minutes in order to give even more cheesiness Definately a good recipes for kids, but also for adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe has been in my family for years. Our version also calls for 2 T. each of finely chopped green pepper & onion. Also, don't drain the corn. Bake it for the first 30 minutes covered, then stir well and remove the top for the last 30 minutes. No need to cook the macaroni and it thickens as it stands. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
YUMMO! Super Easy and always a crowd pleaser. You should NOT drain the corn - the liquid will cook the noodles. Also, I typically make in a crockpot, on low for about 3-4 hours. My family has been making this recipe for the last 10 years and once someone has it, they EXPECT that we bring it to the next potluck. It has become a staple at holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States