Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe has been in my family for years. It is easy, good and very yummy! Make sure that you don't drain the corn otherwise it will turn out chewy. I also don't add butter, never have and I doubt it would be missed from this recipe either! (Considering its the same minus the butter!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
3 stars because my husband and son enjoyed it. I however, found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Family favorite at gatherings. I make it ahead of time then stick it in a crock pot to keep it warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edwardsfamily5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
very good! My family has been making a similar version for years using Spaghetti instead of corn. This is much easier. The trick is to not drain the corn and I add about 1/3 cup milk before cooking and decrease the butter to 1/2 a stick. Other than that, follow to a T... Very good and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I didn't bake the mac and cheese, I did it all stove top. My kids loved it, and it is so easy. I would definitely cut the amount of butter though. I doubled to recipe and I used a full stick of butter and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The country singer Miranda Lambert submitted this in country cooking magazine as a family favorite. I made it for Thanksgiving one year & everyone DIED over it's greatness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Made some changes and it turned out great! Pre cooked macaroni for 5 mins then added 1lb ground beef, creamed corn, 15 oz can of corn (undrained), 1/3 cup cubes butter, 10oz cubes of cheddar, s&p, and garlic salt. Cooked covered for 25 mins, stirred and then finished uncovered for 20 mins. May be soupy at first but let stand 5 mins. I might cut back even more on the butter next time but my family of picky eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I've been making this for a couple of years and it's always a crowd & kid favorite. NOTE: Do NOT drain the kernel corn - that liquid is needed for the macaroni. That's the best part of this dish. Open, dump, and bake! No draining or precooking needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Add a can of diced tomatoes and some ritz crackers on top and this is amazing. I actually used a box of velvetta since it was about to expire I just added a little more cheese to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was better than I hoped it would be. My daughter's name is Lucy so choose to make this for her and she, a four year old, couldn't get enough of it, neither could my two-year-old. I did unintentionally modify the recipe a bit. I accidentally left out the butter (didn't even realize I had until writing this review- didn't miss it a bit) and while I used a can of Creamed Corn, I only had frozen Corn so I used a comparable amount of that and added water for the frozen corn. I added more than I thought I would- until it looked "right", especially with dry macaroni in the recipe.I baked for the full hour and the macaroni was cooked perfectly. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States