Lucy's Mac and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I must eat gluten free, but my husband hates GF pasta. I planned to try this today using GF rotini, thinking perhaps baking it would give a better bite to the pasta than boiling it. Also, we love serving buttered corn along with mac n cheese. I thought this would be great with ribs. Isaac (the storm) altered my plans a bit. No ribs, and no way did I want to venture to the store for the canned corn. So into the crockpot it went, using frozen corn. I used milk for the liquid and omitted the butter feeling the milk would provide the fat. It worked! And wonder of wonders, he liked it! But I still needed a main dish, so I browned some hamburger and added it to the finished dish. Still very good, but not as good as just the Mac n corn. Fabulous and easy, and please forgive my necessary alterations. This mac n corn is pure comfort food, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this for my teenage son, but he wasn't crazy about it. Probably because he eats one thing at a time from his plate and this combines a couple of flavors. I personally thought it was interesting and good. I like different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Awesome! No need to cook the macaroni first, just don't drain the corn. This will be a favorite in our house for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
What's not to like? It is definitely not heart healhy but everyone sure liked it. I cut the butter in half and cooked it about 20 minutes extra so it wasn't so runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Gee, I thought this would be a winner. My two granddaughters ages 4 and 6 didn't like it at all. I actually thought it was pretty good. I made it in a 1-1/2 quart crock pot, used half the butter, and cooked on high for two hours and low for two hours. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn32789

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is everyone's favorite for all occasions! It's become a regular side on our Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner table, but I also make it now and then for a weeknight dinner side. I add onion also...can't imagine it without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Love this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Not a bad dish, I added rotisserie chicken which I chopped up and diced green chiles. Was really good but next time I will omit the kernel corn and add more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very yummy! Everyone loved it. However, I tried it in the crockpot and it got very soupy like. Thankfully I noticed it early and added an extra can of corn with no liquid and more noodles. Then baked it before serving it. That absorbed up the extra liquid. No crockot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I dump all of the ingredients in the slow cooker. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smylies
Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States