Lucky's Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I love this dish. I don't even like tomato soup or tomato juice but this is delish! I followed the recipe and so glad I did. I wouldn't change anything. I didn't know if my husband would like it as made so I added chick peas and some other fresh veggies but that was only for filling. It wasn't necessary. Served it with a crusty baguette. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Spectacular! I made this for a potluck last night -- 20+ people. I quadrupled the recipe (figuring I'd have plenty left over), but there wasn't a drop left. Everyone raved about it. I made only a few modest tweaks, based largely on what was at hand: (1) I used V8, which is always a plus; (2) I used Better than Bouillon beef base rather than cubes (again, always a plus); and I used celery seed instead of celery salt, and Lawry's seasoned salt instead of regular salt. As has been mentioned in other reviews, I pulsed the veg separately in my food processor. Short bursts allow a perfect size/texture for each veg. Force yourself to stop one or two pulses before you THINK it's done... (oh, and: I cored and seeded the tomatoes, and seeded the cukes). Finally, I combined all in a Hefty Jumbo 2.5 gallon zip bag (my secret weapon): once everything was combined I tossed and turned it all every hour or so. These bags make for perfect blending, and easy transport. It was a huge hit six hours later; and it's even better 24 hours later ( confession: I held some back)! Thanks, Lucky Noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I added a jalapeno and it helped some - but too much oregano, basil - needed cilantro. Good, but will not be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
So good!! I made twice in one week! Followed exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is wonderful. This is the type of recipe that must be shared. I died and went to heaven, this is the perfect summer dish, but I bet that I will make it all year long. Do not change this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I had the great opportunity to taste this at a Southern California AR gathering. gammaray made this 5 star recipe and all I can say is wow. The perfect summertime recipe. Thank you Lucky Noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Warm summer days and gazpacho, what could be better!?!? This was so easy and enjoyable! As many suggested, I used V8 but otherwise followed the recipe. I waited a full 24 hours to let the flavors blend. Good stuff! Thanks, Lucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made this for a luncheon for the board of directors of our parish soup kitchen where I have to strike a balance between using donated ingredients and producing an impressive meal. The changes I had to make were due to what was on hand, so my tomatoes were home canned by a volunteer, I replaced the tomato juice with V8, the cucumber became zucchini, the peppers were all red. I increased the garlic and had no celery salt. Oh, and since one member is vegetarian I omitted the beef granules. I used a heavy hand with the black pepper. The meal was rounded out with rosemary focaccia bread and a fruit salad. Not to brag, but I got rave reviews! Thanks, LN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
very good, but next time i'll try it without the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I think I'm in love! This will be a go-to this summer - especially when the heat really kicks in! I used [nearly] a pint of grape tomatoes and left out the celery salt, because I didn't have any. Can't wait to make it again, soon, with the halves of veggies I have leftover (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States