Lucky and Rippy's Favorite Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is on the right track, but you're leaving out calcium requirements and also the fact that ALOT of dry foods have been affected by this recall. I have my dog on an all natural diet. She 'basically" eats healthy foods that we eat. Everyone that is in the know is aware not to feed certain foods to dogs. I recommend a book by Carol Boyle on natural food for dogs. I have used this way of feeding my dog for two weeks and I can already see a positive difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Congratulations on thinking about our "furry kids". My two bichons love this diet. They've been on the exact same thing for 6 years.Sometimes I change it around with turkey or beef liver. At the suggestion of our Vet, I sprinkle in the garlic from one capsule I buy at the health food store. Its just enough to keep the fleas away but won't hurt the "furry kids". Also, to protect joints a bit of bonemeal after the cooking process. I steam the rice and boil the chicken separately. I use a frozen veggie mix with corn, green beans, carrots and peas. Broccoli, brussel sprouts and cauliflower should not be used because it can cause gas in dogs. Thanks for sharing this with everyone LuvsNow17
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Thank you for this wonderful, simple recipe. An inexpensive meat with a yummy taste for our little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
this is an excellant recipe. i use it all the time when my dogs are sick. i omit the vegetables so it doesnt upset their stomachs until they are well. also my vet recommends a dailey vitamin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I use this same recipe to feed both of my dogs except that I add three ground Tums to the mixture after it has cooled, per my vet (I believe it has something to do with dogs needing phosphorous???). I have a 7-yr old border collie and a 14-yr old australian shepherd with Cushings disease and they love this. I often will use ground beef if I don't have ground chicken - but be sure your dog can handle the extra fat without any accidents in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
The recipe is great for a supplemental meal. However I hope the submitter does not mean it for a steady diet because there are vitamins and minerals that dog's require and are not in the recipe. This fact has been stated on the news when they are talking about the Pet Food Recall. However, like I previously stated it is good for a change of pace/treat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
With a minor variation in ingredients, I've fed my dogs this recipe a couple times a month for many years. I've not put veggies in (will try it!), but do mince a couple cloves of garlic, cook it with the rice, and mix in cooked, shredded chicken. The "kids" love it, and the added garlic is a great flea deterrent - have never had a flea issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I cook "patties" of veggies and meats to mix with our Westie's dry food, but this is definately a change for him. If it is mssing calcium, can dried milk powder be used? (ps he loves broccoli, so we put up with occasional flatulence)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This recipe is so good, and very similar to what I cook for my dog every evening. You can add wheat germ to this recipe, and substitute the chicken with ground round (or other very lean cut of beef) or fish (either farm raised catfish or talapia). My dog loves this rice, meat, veggies meal. Try Wacky Mac noodles instead of rice (or tri-color rotini) for a change. If you are worried your doggy is not getting enough nutrients, buy some pet tabs and give along with meals. My dog eats a small amount of broccoli in the vegetable mix he gets, but he has never had detectable gas. I throw it all into an iron skillet, thinly coated with olive oil, and cook for about 12 or so minutes. Capi says 'Yum'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was easy to make and my dogs chowed it down so fast, they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETCOOKINAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States