Lucky and Rippy's Favorite Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Please remember not to ever add black pepper to dog food. It can irritate the skin, eyes, nose, and gastrointestinal tract of your dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I've used a variation of this recipe for my three dogs. As other people have commented, it should not be used on a consistent basis. I have several recipes that I use to mix things up to ensure my dogs get a well rounded diet and nutritional support with vitamin supplaments. I got most of my recipes from www.wendynanrees.com. She hosts the Wild Life Talk Radio and is excellent to deal with. With all the pet food recalls it is a good feeling to know we are feeding our furry friends safe food. So why not make it balanced as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I made this for my 14 year old English setter when the dog food recall seemed so widespread. She absolutely loves it! I put it into freezer containers and freeze it, pulling it out as needed. The next time I make it, I am going to use low sodium chicken broth instead of the water for a little more flavor, although my dog LOVES it just as the recipes call for it to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was easy to make and my dogs chowed it down so fast, they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETCOOKINAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This recipe is so good, and very similar to what I cook for my dog every evening. You can add wheat germ to this recipe, and substitute the chicken with ground round (or other very lean cut of beef) or fish (either farm raised catfish or talapia). My dog loves this rice, meat, veggies meal. Try Wacky Mac noodles instead of rice (or tri-color rotini) for a change. If you are worried your doggy is not getting enough nutrients, buy some pet tabs and give along with meals. My dog eats a small amount of broccoli in the vegetable mix he gets, but he has never had detectable gas. I throw it all into an iron skillet, thinly coated with olive oil, and cook for about 12 or so minutes. Capi says 'Yum'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I cook "patties" of veggies and meats to mix with our Westie's dry food, but this is definately a change for him. If it is mssing calcium, can dried milk powder be used? (ps he loves broccoli, so we put up with occasional flatulence)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
With a minor variation in ingredients, I've fed my dogs this recipe a couple times a month for many years. I've not put veggies in (will try it!), but do mince a couple cloves of garlic, cook it with the rice, and mix in cooked, shredded chicken. The "kids" love it, and the added garlic is a great flea deterrent - have never had a flea issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
The recipe is great for a supplemental meal. However I hope the submitter does not mean it for a steady diet because there are vitamins and minerals that dog's require and are not in the recipe. This fact has been stated on the news when they are talking about the Pet Food Recall. However, like I previously stated it is good for a change of pace/treat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I use this same recipe to feed both of my dogs except that I add three ground Tums to the mixture after it has cooled, per my vet (I believe it has something to do with dogs needing phosphorous???). I have a 7-yr old border collie and a 14-yr old australian shepherd with Cushings disease and they love this. I often will use ground beef if I don't have ground chicken - but be sure your dog can handle the extra fat without any accidents in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
this is an excellant recipe. i use it all the time when my dogs are sick. i omit the vegetables so it doesnt upset their stomachs until they are well. also my vet recommends a dailey vitamin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States