Lucky and Rippy's Favorite Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
While this recipe is a good base, it is not nutritionally sound. As a holistic nutritionist, I have formally studied pet nutrition. Your recipe needs variety and necessary additions. Try rotating protein sources (chicken, beef, fish,... and once a week supplementing with organs) and adding an omega-3 rich egg (cook the white, serve the yolk raw) at least once per day. You might vary your grains with rolled oats (which I first process to make into a flour, then simply add to food w/ warm broth before serving my dogs' meals), alternated with enriched white rice, long grain brown rice, and medium grain brown rice (cooked LONGER than for human consumption!). Also, add fresh vegetables lightly steamed and mashed such as carrots, squash, sweet potato, yam, peas, etc., and even apples once in awhile. Most importantly, you really should be adding cottage cheese or plain yogurt with every meal. Use a calcium supplement (at least 300 mg daily) and a multi. Adding alfalfa powder or other greens is necessary for cleansing the blood and immune health. Finally, if only one supplement is to be used, a good enzyme for dogs is imperatve. I use a great multi complex by "Only Natural Pet," calcium, alfalfa powder, an Omega 3-6-9 capsule, acidophilus (or other probiotic), and occasionally an enzyme. My dogs are athletes, their health and nutrition are very important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1766 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Wonderfully easy to put together. Even better, my two senior doggies loved this. I made some adjustments, using ground chicken and brown rice. A few reviewers expressed concern about not satisfying all nutritional needs, but there is no food that I know of that provides everything, which is why I give my dogs supplements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
My 10 Pound dog Cheyenne is a stingy eater. I made this recipe with carrots instead of mixed vegetables and put it in the blender, after cooking . She ate every bite and went to her sister Lucy's plate to try and find more. I did not blend it thoroughly just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Good recipe. To make it more nutritionally sound, you could add diced apples, and serve it with a big dallop of whole fat plain yoghurt. I would also add a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, as dogs need more oil in their diet than we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Very good recipe, I also put some canned pumpkin in for fiber, per the vet and the dogs and cats both love it. However, I am afraid to give a supplement to my pets because of the numerous recalls. How do we know if they are made in America with American processed ingredients? Is there a human grade supplement to give them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is a great, simple recipe. I changed it a little. I used ground turkey for the meat (ground chicken would also work), brown rice for the rice (will have to cook a little longer), frozen peas and carrots for the veggies and added 1TBL of bone meal (can get at health food store)for calcium supplement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Rocky will not eat normal dog food. I made this dish for him and he loved it! It's a great way to make sure that he's getting the nutrition that he needs. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
My dogs both look forward to this meal every afternoon. I supplement their diet with doggy vitamins and I use brown rice. This is a great "base" recipe in which one can build off of easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Please remember not to ever add black pepper to dog food. It can irritate the skin, eyes, nose, and gastrointestinal tract of your dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I've used a variation of this recipe for my three dogs. As other people have commented, it should not be used on a consistent basis. I have several recipes that I use to mix things up to ensure my dogs get a well rounded diet and nutritional support with vitamin supplaments. I got most of my recipes from www.wendynanrees.com. She hosts the Wild Life Talk Radio and is excellent to deal with. With all the pet food recalls it is a good feeling to know we are feeding our furry friends safe food. So why not make it balanced as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States