Lucky and Rippy's Favorite Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I use just about this same recipe. Only I add just a dash of Garlic powder to control the fleas. And I use fresh ground white turkey, canned peas and green beans and brown rice. My dog LOVES her food and whenever I can I mix it up a bit to give her variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EEAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I need to comment on this... 1st...use brown rice 2nd..get a pressure cooker, do an entire chicken... yes, bones too. 3rd...the veggies, add them after the chicken is cooked. Minimal processing... I add liver, & beef or pork, eggs (shells belnded). as a base I use pumpkin, when I find it, and lots of squash. I save all my chicken bones and scrap food, and add that to the batch in the pressure cooker. Save those potatoe skins all the good stuff and less starch. Barley is also good to use, oatmeal can be used too. Think about what the food would do for you, and add that information to what you cook and how long you cook it. Think Minimal processing~~~ I think I will subscribe and publish my recipe. I now cook for 2 large boxers. AND no matter what I try, my 2 cats will not eat people food...period! So anyone who has an idea, love to hear it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
After having my dog break out in a rash from corn allergy, but trying to save money on the food. Did my first run of it. Comes down to about a dollar a day to feed both my dogs. ( 70 pound and 15 pound) I read it was recommended to feed 1 cup per 35 pounds body weight, if that helps anyone. I plan on rotating chicken and fish. For the fish I used tilapia, can tuna, pack of salmon. I did about a little under half meat then the other half was white and brown rice, potato, eggs scrambled in olive oil, carrot, and brocolli. They absolutely loved it. And I feel so much better feeding them quality food instead of spending 15 dollars on a cheap bag of dog food that's practically all corn, what a rip off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I saw many reviewers worried about their children... or animals ha ha, not receiving the proper nutrition or being on a fixed income. After reading the nutritionist's (Kim)review I was hesitant and almost didn't recall the recipe description also says, "combined with a kibble" as well as the recipe was for people worried about dog food recall. This recipe is a low cost and decent substitution. Also, mixing this with his regular food has made food last twice as long. My dog has severe skin allergies and he hasn't broke out with this food! Not recommended for a good regular diet as Kim stated, but if you need cheap and temporary food, good choice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaGray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I have two dogs,one is quite finicky. I made this recipe using beef, as I had bought a beef last year, and I cannot eat it, too tough for me to chew. The smaller dog, the finicky one, loves this food. I am wondering how much he should have per day, and is he getting all the nutrients that he needs? I notice he has put on weight since I started feeding this to him. I am on a fixed income, so do not want to spend a lot of money on stuff from the vet to supplement. Does anyone have any advice for me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a good basic recipe, although somewhat lacking in some important nutritional elements. I applaud anyone looking for a healthy alternative to store bought canned pet food. I use this basic recipe and tweek it a bit(adding some vitamins and supplements suggested by my vet)for my diabetic dog. I use brown rice (aids digestion, provides nutrients, and considered a whole grain), and a variety of fresh vegetables lightly steamed and chopped. I sometimes cook the rice in organic vegetable/chiken/beef broth to add a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAHENR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Hello, I have decided to start making my dogs' dog food, and I was wondering if anybody had some really good advice, based on experience as what to do, how to switch them, and how much variety a dog should have in their diet. thank you so much. my e-mail is metzge22@msu.edu. Thank you, Jessie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Using a rice cooker makes this even easier! This is just what I was looking for, thanks for posting it. I have an easy suggestion...I made the rice in my rice cooker, browned the meat (I used lean organic ground beef) on the stove with just a teaspoon of granulated garlic (for fleas) and water to make a broth, then added the meat mix to the rice cooker when the rice was done. Add frozen veggies (I buy unsalted peas & carrots, broccoli, and green beans separately bagged so I can control the amount of corn and broccoli :) and keep in rice cooker until everything warms together. Put in containers and when it's all cooled down, stir in a chopped hard boiled egg or two and some fresh chopped parsley. OH LA LA! I do, of course, mix this homemade goodness into their tried and true kibble. They need that too. AND, now don't laugh, my husband takes this for work with some Old Bay seasoning. How can ya lose?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABRUNKOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. My border collie has an insulinoma, and needs a high protein, high carb diet. I add some of her dry dog food to this and she loves it, so does my other dog. I have noticed that her hypoglycemia is less intense than it was and I have only had them on this for 1 week. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
While this recipe is a good base, it is not nutritionally sound. As a holistic nutritionist, I have formally studied pet nutrition. Your recipe needs variety and necessary additions. Try rotating protein sources (chicken, beef, fish,... and once a week supplementing with organs) and adding an omega-3 rich egg (cook the white, serve the yolk raw) at least once per day. You might vary your grains with rolled oats (which I first process to make into a flour, then simply add to food w/ warm broth before serving my dogs' meals), alternated with enriched white rice, long grain brown rice, and medium grain brown rice (cooked LONGER than for human consumption!). Also, add fresh vegetables lightly steamed and mashed such as carrots, squash, sweet potato, yam, peas, etc., and even apples once in awhile. Most importantly, you really should be adding cottage cheese or plain yogurt with every meal. Use a calcium supplement (at least 300 mg daily) and a multi. Adding alfalfa powder or other greens is necessary for cleansing the blood and immune health. Finally, if only one supplement is to be used, a good enzyme for dogs is imperatve. I use a great multi complex by "Only Natural Pet," calcium, alfalfa powder, an Omega 3-6-9 capsule, acidophilus (or other probiotic), and occasionally an enzyme. My dogs are athletes, their health and nutrition are very important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1755 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States