Lucky Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was delicious! I had only red curry powder and it added a real zip to the recipe. I threw in some leftover ham just to use it up. This is a cold-weather keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is good!!! I was unsure of this combo of seasoning but we all loved it. Not spicy hot...just good. It doesn't taste like curry...it's just the combination that makes it good. I didn't even have bacon but I'll bet that makes it even better. We did sprinkle some sharp cheddar on top. Bet it would be good with cilantro sprinkled on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is a terrific cold weather soup. I substituted vegetable broth for the water and used canned black-eyed peas with bacon. If you like it a bit thicker, puree one of the cans of beans with a hand blender before adding. Terrific with cornbread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Didn't have bacon, used ham pureed the onions and pepers before cooking. Used less water to make really thick and put over rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this soup for New Years Day this year. It was the most amazing soup I have ever tasted. I can't wait for the weather to cool down to make it again!! I may not be able to wait :) I didn't change a thing in the recipe and it was perfect!! Big thumbs up from me and my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We love this soup without any alterations to the recipe. It has a definite chili taste to it, but without all the calories chili has. It could definitely be spiced up if you like more heat, but it had just the right kick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Loved it! I omitted the dry mustard, curry powder and sugar, then added chicken Better Than Bouillon with the water and a one can of hominy. Green chiles would be a good addition too. Husband especially liked it with the melted cheddar and bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This soup was a real hit with my husband & I. As he said, "I wasn't expecting much," I guess b/c it looked SO healthy and just like a thin soup, but it was delicious!! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Followed recipe as written, came out tasty enough. Didn't seem quite as substantial as I was hoping for, so I threw in a can of kidney beans and improved it a bit. I might try it again sometime and add in some pork sausage or maybe ham hocks. Overall - good enough for me, and I would recommend giving it a try. Thanks for sharing Steffanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
While on vacation, was searching for our New Year's Black Eye Pea recipe, and found it almost exactly as a soup! In my original recipe, I drain the Black Eyed peas, use 2 cans of rotel tomatoes (which are smaller cans, and smaller pieces of tomato) and no added water. My original recipe does not call for sugar either, but does suggest garnishing with the crumbled bacon and parsley. As a side dish, this has become a staple in my family for the past 15 years. I printed the recipe, taped it onto a can of Black Eyed peas and attached a pre-measured bag of the dry spices as a Christmas gift for my college age nieces & nephews one year since they all ask for it when they visit. It is a very pretty, colorful dish as well. I may even try it as soup some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States