Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I almost didn't look twice at this recipe after reading a one-star review. But then I realized that the chicken stock in my pantry is made only from FORWARD-SCRATCHING CHICKENS. Now I can make this recipe without causing regret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very flavorful and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I'm giving it a 5 because it was so easy and everyone in my home loved it. What a simple way to incorporate all New Years food. I don't even like cabbage but this was delcious..I barely tasted it. I used 1 lb. boneless ham steak (cubed)and canned beans. I recommend doubling the ham..I did the second time and enjoyed this recipe so much more. Here in Texas we LOVE spicy food...you can kick it up a notch if you'd like to with a little extra cayenne. Husband loves this recipe...great MAN food and heats up very well. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houstongal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
YUM! Made this on Jan 1st and it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was great! Made it Jan 1st along with Black Eyed Pea Gumbo (which was very bland) and this was really good. I used regular cabbage instead of Napa which was great and I am not a big cabbage eater. Used cubed ham and didn't have Cajun seasoning so I added some chili powder, onion and garlic powder, cayenne, salt, pepper, basil and oregano instead. I didn't serve over rice but that would be good! We loved the flavor. Oh...and I left out the Water Chestnuts. Didn't have them, but didn't think they would have gone well in this dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I thought this was very good and the whole family approved. I added more Cajun seasoning~ for extra kick and used bacon instead of ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
easy, delicious, quick, healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I made it in the crockpot so we could leave for the day. Sauteed onions first obviously. We used chorizo instead of ham and used more cabbage. Forgot to make rice and liked it soupy. Did serve with quinoa second time around. Was also able to freeze what was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Love this stew! I made it last New Year's day with rave reviews and plan on having it again this year. A couple of tweeks: I used pre-cooked and cut ham cubes instead of the hock. and I used Bok Choy instead of Napa. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Zesty! Made this on New Years Day for luck (so far so good). I used regular cabbage because my store didn't have Napa, I eliminated the water chestnuts because they weren't in the directions, I used ham steak as other recommended and cut it up (don't know if they used the ham hocks also, but I didn't!), used canned black-eyed peas, and served it with Quinoa! I only made the changes because it's what I had and it was still great. I will definitely make it throughout the year as well as on New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States