Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Norma
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I would use Canadian instead of Ham Hock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved having cabbage in this old classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRVGRL
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
As for the water chesnuts, I haven't added them in years and haven't missed them either. The ham I always add in extra ham. Can't have a New Years day without this lucky bringing dish. This is my favorite recipe for ringing it in. Do not let that cabbage scare you or your picky eater. Napa cabbage is extremely mild and if you shred it small enough, no one would ever know it was there. I prefer noticeable but if you have a picky eater, by all means hide the cabbage but don't leave it out! Everyone enjoys this dish, from my "no green in my food" teen, to my vegetarian adult daughter (she gets a ham free version cooked in a small pot to the side.) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRVGRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very flavorful and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Zesty! Made this on New Years Day for luck (so far so good). I used regular cabbage because my store didn't have Napa, I eliminated the water chestnuts because they weren't in the directions, I used ham steak as other recommended and cut it up (don't know if they used the ham hocks also, but I didn't!), used canned black-eyed peas, and served it with Quinoa! I only made the changes because it's what I had and it was still great. I will definitely make it throughout the year as well as on New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a keeper for me. It was nice to have a stew recipe for a cold New Year's Day. I added 2 packages of Carving Board ham along with the ham hocks and it was enough meat. There isn't enough meat with only the ham hocks. I also added 2 more cups of chicken stock. This is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Love this stew! I made it last New Year's day with rave reviews and plan on having it again this year. A couple of tweeks: I used pre-cooked and cut ham cubes instead of the hock. and I used Bok Choy instead of Napa. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I made it in the crockpot so we could leave for the day. Sauteed onions first obviously. We used chorizo instead of ham and used more cabbage. Forgot to make rice and liked it soupy. Did serve with quinoa second time around. Was also able to freeze what was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
easy, delicious, quick, healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I almost didn't look twice at this recipe after reading a one-star review. But then I realized that the chicken stock in my pantry is made only from FORWARD-SCRATCHING CHICKENS. Now I can make this recipe without causing regret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States