Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
.dont think we like basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This came out wonderful! I'd never had black-eyed peas before and the flavor of this and my ham from Christmas was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I always have Blackeye Peas and greens on New Years Day. I saw this recipe the last week of the year and loved the idea of having the peas and the greens together in a stew. This is the first time I have ever cooked with Nappa cabbage. It is so good, we have had it several times since and it's only Feb. I use diced ham instead off the Ham hock and have cooked it with and without the water chestnuts- it's great both ways. Yum yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Amazing! I substituted the ham hock with smoke turkey and it was delicious! This will be a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was great! I only made a couple changes, two cans of black eyed peas and half a head of cabbage. I also sautéed some extra cabbage and onion to add to the stew for extra crunch. Very easily doubled to leave leftovers. Made with rice the first day and the second day it was so hearty, the rice wasn't needed. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this for New Years and everyone loved it. I used the ham bone from our Christmas ham which still had a lot of meat on it. I didn't have any Cajun seasoning so used about 2 tsp. of Frank's Red Hot sauce which gave it a great flavor. I also added a bit of bacon grease to sauté the onion and cabbage and give it that bacon smoky flavor. Instead of rice I used some wide egg noodles added at the end of the cooking time and I served the stew with cornbread. I'm not giving 5 stars for my changes but because this is a great recipe that you can add to or take away whatever you like. This recipe is so much easier and more convenient than cooking everything separately. Such a delicious recipe that's a great start to the New Year! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I added more seasoning but really loved it! Liked the crunchy water chestnuts in it! Will make this again before next New Years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
3 stars as written. Needs more depth of flavor- add carrots and celery with onions, add additional ham. 1/2 the rice or will be too thick. Will make again with these changes (we need all the new year good luck we can get :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe. I haven't had this since my mom passed away. I did omit the chestnuts, but it was still fabulous. Also great with a can of diced tomatoes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Made this for New Years Eve party...it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States