Luck o' the Irish Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
loved the top 2 layers!! For the mint layer I used 3 cups icing sugar, no milk and doubled the peppermint and food colouring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was a crowd pleaser! To keep from packing away too many calories, we gave a lot away to neighbors and co-workers and all loved these brownies! We served ours with a small scoop of Vanilla Bean ice cream and poured a little bit of Creme De Menthe liquor over the top of the ice cream. That added a nice yummy touch! The one thing that I will do differently next time would be to bake the brownies in a smaller (8 inch by 12 inch) baking dish, and cut the margerine used in the topping to 5 Tablespoons in stead of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
These brownies were a huge disappointment. Technically speaking they came out ok - that is I didn't have issues with the consistency of the layers or anything like that - I just thought they tasted more like a light chocolate cake to me and the mint layer was sweet. I was hoping for a dense dark chocolate flavor for the brownie that could help balance the icky sweetness of the mint layer. I have a monster sweet tooth but overall these were just WAY too sweet for me to enjoy. It's all a matter of personal preference I suppose as others seemed to love them but they were not for me or anyone else in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACHMILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good flavor combinations but far too sweet. The mint layer could be much thinner, or, as someone else suggested, make it into a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Too sweet! No one at them at Christmas. I had to throw most of them away. A cream cheese based green filling would be a good replacement for the confectionary sugar filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joderita
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and found that the brownie layer was still too moist (and actually greasy to the touch...) after the allotted time. Next time I make these, I might try it with 3/4 C butter, instead of the full 1 C. Other than that, these were scrumptious! The mint and chocolate combination is to DIE for! I only ended up using about half of the top layer, for a topping about 1/8 inch thick, but that's due to my own preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These were yummy, a nice spin on brownies. I want to try this with strawberry or raspberry frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Only a 4 b/c the mint layer was WAY rich! We will be halving it & quartering the amount of mint extract next time, but there will DEFINITELY be a next time! (And hopefully soon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dusty
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dusty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
These are delicious!!! Only thing wrong is that by the end of the recipe you've ended up using about 4 sticks of butter (which my mom wasn't too crazy about either) so we cut them into small portions. Also, when you are applying the green peppermint paste to the brownies, make sure the brownies are COMPLETELY cool first. I started putting mine on early and the brownies started sticking to the paste so it started mixing in with the peppermint... once I realized this though I stopped and continued it later so it still worked out and they tasted GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States