Luck o' the Irish Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I first made these quite a few years ago but forgot to post a review. Made them again today, and they are delicious, even if I did cheat a bit and use a box mix. Just the right amount of mint to complement the chocolate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
These were such a hit at my feast, so glad I found this recipe, I've always wanted to try making a mint brownie. The five stars are for the brownie and mint layers, so chewy, brownie-chocolaty and the buttery mint layer rich and minty. But, I had to fool around with the top layer and made ingridvogel's Chocolate Ganache (minus Rum flavoring) instead of following the recipe. Cowabunga!! I lucked out and it was a good thing, the crowd roared (means they were very pleased). Thanks Cher and I know your top layer is very 5 stars if the other 2/3rds of this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: American Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I used butter for the margarine in the brownies, 24 minutes was perfect for my oven. For the middle layer I only used 3 cups icing sugar because it was too dry as it was, I used 3 drops of Peppermint oil and some Kelly green paste colouring. For the ganache I used 1/4 cup butter melted in a small bowl for 15 seconds in the microwave, then added 1/2 cup chocolate chips microwaved for 15 seconds then another 1/2 cup chocolate chips microwaved for 15 seconds, stir vigorously until the chocolate melts completely and it thickens, work quickly to spread over the top of the filling. I omitted the vanilla as it is not needed and usually seizes the chocolate. Cut into 32 squares, enjoyed by my son's hockey team for their St. Patrick's Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Oh my this recipe is additive. The pan I made was gone in a day with me eating the most. The only minor change was I used Pure Mint & Peppermint Extract. The centre layer reminded me of a Nanaimo Bar with both sweetness and texture. We enjoyed the base on this recipe very much. More cake like and not dense which was really a nice change. Will be making a 1/2 batch right now as DH did not get any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
It lasted 20 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Walker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monroe City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I make this as our dessert every year for Saint Patrick's Day. The only problem is that I want to eat the entire pan by the time the kids get home from school! You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
loved the top 2 layers!! For the mint layer I used 3 cups icing sugar, no milk and doubled the peppermint and food colouring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was a crowd pleaser! To keep from packing away too many calories, we gave a lot away to neighbors and co-workers and all loved these brownies! We served ours with a small scoop of Vanilla Bean ice cream and poured a little bit of Creme De Menthe liquor over the top of the ice cream. That added a nice yummy touch! The one thing that I will do differently next time would be to bake the brownies in a smaller (8 inch by 12 inch) baking dish, and cut the margerine used in the topping to 5 Tablespoons in stead of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
These brownies were a huge disappointment. Technically speaking they came out ok - that is I didn't have issues with the consistency of the layers or anything like that - I just thought they tasted more like a light chocolate cake to me and the mint layer was sweet. I was hoping for a dense dark chocolate flavor for the brownie that could help balance the icky sweetness of the mint layer. I have a monster sweet tooth but overall these were just WAY too sweet for me to enjoy. It's all a matter of personal preference I suppose as others seemed to love them but they were not for me or anyone else in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda 'Machmiller' Kiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good flavor combinations but far too sweet. The mint layer could be much thinner, or, as someone else suggested, make it into a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States