Luck o' the Irish Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I was unaware that allrecipes.com would change your review after you had written something. As I had originally said before allrecipes changed my review. These brownies are a complete waste of time the brownies have absolutely no taste at all and they wouldn't even cook right. The frosting recipe makes enough to coat the brownies with about 4 inches of frosting and it's sickeningly sweet. :( I'm absolutely furious that i wasted so much ingredients and overall around 3 sticks of butter. Just a little word to everyone. DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I thought this was pretty good. The reason I am giving it four stars instead of five is that I made a couple of small changes, and I think if I had made it as written, it would have been way too sweet. I made a half recipe, and used only 1 cup powdered sugar for the frosting. Also just used plain melted chocolate chips for the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made these for a school bake sale right around St. Patrick's day... the green fit the occasion very well... and they sold fast and got great reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this recipe AS IS, and the bottom did NOT turn out, it needed WAY more baking time! The mint layer was WAY too strong, sweet and fluffy. Since it was fluffy, the harder top layer squished the fluffy part out. If I made it again, I'd use a brownie mix for the bottom and use way less confectioners sugar and mint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Loved these brownies. They were very moist even 4 days later. I agree that they are quite rich and a 2x2 inch square is plenty! I used mint extract instead of peppermint. I do feel that it is not quite as strong and we loved the results. I will also try making the brownie in the future without the mint layer, just because it was yummy! It could become my new favorite brownie recipe. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These brownies are perfect for every occasion! The recipe is ALWAYS asked for! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Made these today. They were very good. Made as written except for the topping. I made a chocolate ganache using a cup and a half of milk choc chips and 2/3 cup of heavy cream. My son said they tasted like Heaven. I would recommend cutting them very small, they are quite rich. Also I thought the mint layer was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These are very good, very rich tasting brownie. I loved the mint layer, anything buttercream can't be bad. I used to make almost exact recipe except used a small can hershey's chocolate syrup, can't find the recipe though. I think those brownies turned out more cake like than these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These are very good, but very, very rich. Serving a piece as big as what is shown is not practical and they will not be finished. These can be cut into bite size portions and then are perfect, otherwise overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States