Lucie's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Excellent! We loved this! Very filling and flavorful. My husband kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel N Alta Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was better than I expected! I left out the bell pepper, mushrooms and red wine because I didn't have them on hand. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly, including the lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce which I was skeptical about. In the end, I'd say to be sure to include these two items and they added a flavor element that "brightened" the rest of the dish. We loved it! I know it will freeze well, so this one will be a staple in our packed lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
When I make chili I make a huge pot so I can freeze some. So, I tripled the recipe and used three different kinds of beans. I drained them because I don't like the sliminess of the juice. I added some canned vegetable broth to make up for it. I also didn't use fresh tomatoes because winter tomatoes lack flavor so I used diced canned tomatoes and their juice. My kids won't eat mushrooms so I left them out, but I bet it would be great them. I added corn, chipotle and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
A great veggie chili recipe- loved having such a variety of stuff in- beans, pepper, mushrooms. But this was also a downfall at least for me because I didn't have any celery or bulgar- turned out great anyways, with great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Quite possibly the best meatless chili that I've ever had. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy, was great, and my family didn't even realize how healthy it was. I omitted the carrots (as I don't believe they belong in chili). I also added more beans (an extra can of kidney and two cans of pinto). I didn't have bulgar wheat so I left that out. I used tomato sauce instead of tomato juice. This was not hot at all, which was a plus since my toddler had to have some. Very good receipe, thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobtwot9809

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this recipe for a church supper and three different people wanted the recipe! For added protein I added a tin of chick peas (garbanzo beans). It was appropriately hot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Love it!! it has so much flavor! You really would never know it doesn't have meat. try it with (jumbo) fritos corn chips and sour cream...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole_noto

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a keeper. My husband and I have recently switched to a mostly vegetarian diet and this non-meat chili recipe is a real find. I did use soy crumbles instead of the bulgur, but that's the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States