Lucie's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy, was great, and my family didn't even realize how healthy it was. I omitted the carrots (as I don't believe they belong in chili). I also added more beans (an extra can of kidney and two cans of pinto). I didn't have bulgar wheat so I left that out. I used tomato sauce instead of tomato juice. This was not hot at all, which was a plus since my toddler had to have some. Very good receipe, thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobtwot9809

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
When I make chili I make a huge pot so I can freeze some. So, I tripled the recipe and used three different kinds of beans. I drained them because I don't like the sliminess of the juice. I added some canned vegetable broth to make up for it. I also didn't use fresh tomatoes because winter tomatoes lack flavor so I used diced canned tomatoes and their juice. My kids won't eat mushrooms so I left them out, but I bet it would be great them. I added corn, chipotle and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this recipe for a church supper and three different people wanted the recipe! For added protein I added a tin of chick peas (garbanzo beans). It was appropriately hot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a keeper. My husband and I have recently switched to a mostly vegetarian diet and this non-meat chili recipe is a real find. I did use soy crumbles instead of the bulgur, but that's the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Quite possibly the best meatless chili that I've ever had. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
A great veggie chili recipe- loved having such a variety of stuff in- beans, pepper, mushrooms. But this was also a downfall at least for me because I didn't have any celery or bulgar- turned out great anyways, with great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was better than I expected! I left out the bell pepper, mushrooms and red wine because I didn't have them on hand. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly, including the lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce which I was skeptical about. In the end, I'd say to be sure to include these two items and they added a flavor element that "brightened" the rest of the dish. We loved it! I know it will freeze well, so this one will be a staple in our packed lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Excellent! We loved this! Very filling and flavorful. My husband kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel N Alta Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States