Lubia Polo (Green Bean Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
My Mother-in-law taught me how to Loobia Polow they way her Iranian mother-in-law taught her in Iran! She does not put jalapeno or curry powder in it. She does add to it turmeric and a little cinnamon to the meat while it is cooking. My 4-year-old loves this so much that I can get him to clean up his room in five minutes flat if I bribe him with “Stumboli Kaplow” (how he says the name of this dish!)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I love rice and this was a delicious treat! I left out teh meat but used everthing else. The curry and jalapenos are what gives this dish a real kick in the butt! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
i fry beans with a little cooking oil and make a dry casserol with meat and fresh fried tomatoes,then cook the rice in a large pot of boiling water,not completely tender,then drain the rice and pour rice into a large skillet with a small amount of cooking oil at the bottom.pour rice and the casserole layer by layer.let it steam with the lid wrapped in a towel on top of skillet.steam it on a low heat for about 40 minutes.nice food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
The thought of Middle Eastern food was quite appealing to my husband and I, but although it was somewhat spicy we felt it was still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
A way to avoid the fried rice on the bottom is to put thin slices of potato on the bottom. The potatoes come out crispy and are a nice extra with this dish. My mother always did this and we all fought over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Although I enjoyed this dish, I still prefer the traditional way that my mother makes it and that is with turmeric and not curry. Try it and see what you prefer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This makes SO much food - filled an entire 5 quart dutch oven. Rice was black on bottom about 25 minutes in so I served up. Quite spicy without much flavour. Saved it by adding some natural yoghurt. Will not make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I omitted the peppers and mixed cinnamon and turmeric with the curry powder. It tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This was a lot of fun to make and really delicious. Like everyone here, I made some adjustments: first I used half the rice, beans and meat. Then, I doubled the amount of onion, added 4 cloves of minced garlic, and used for spices 1 T turmeric, 1 t cinnamon, 1 t curry powder, 1 t cumin seed, 1/2 t cayenne. I also used Morningstar Farms burger crumbles and brown basmati rice and used 2 cups of broth, and because of the longer rice cooking stage, :40, skipped the first cooking of the beans by just tossing the rice in with the beans. This nicely filled, and nicely stuck to, my Calphalon everyday pan, but the crust was easy to scrape out and put on top of the rice, and tasted just as good. The crust was declared a delicacy! This dish wins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I didn't use the jalapeno while cooking, but did add to my own plate, to make kid friendly. I guess that worked because my picky son actually ate his with no complaints. I also cut back on the amount of rice/broth. This was a great way to use up the abundence of green beans in my garden. It makes a lot, so I'll be taking some for lunch. I will make this again for sure. Thanks so much for the post Trina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States