Luau Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I gave this recipe 4 stars because the basis was great but it needed some tweaking. I precooked the chicken in a skillet with a little olive oil, salt, pepper and a pinch of cayenne. I doubled the sauce, added the green pepper, onion and added pineapple tidbits and cooked them all together for approximately 15 minutes to soften the veggies and then added the chicken and about 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes. It turned out wonderfully, sweet but with a kick from the pepper flakes. I served it with fried rice (brown rice with fresh peas, green onion and carrot) and a nice green salad. My husband and his family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Very good and extremely simple. I only gave it a 4 star, because we added 1/4 C of coconut milk to the sauce and it would NOT have been nearly as good without it. The coconut milk gave it a nice island flavor that was so creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I just served this recipe to 150 people last night and they thought it was exceptional!!!! A big hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I made this for 60 people that I invited to a Luau. It was fast to make and every bite was gone! I made it the day before,cut up the veggies and cooked chicken. made the sauce, and stored over night. mixed it all together the day of the party and put it in a pan over warmers...by the time of the party it was ready. I didn't bake it at all. Served it over rice...it was a big hit Thanks Marty. Everyone thought I spent hours on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was good! It did not "WOW" me. I doubled the sauce, decreased the brown sugar by 1 Tablespoon, cooked the chicken with some garlic and onion then added the peppers in for about 3-5 minutes and added red chili flakes. Without the chili flakes I do not think I would have liked it as much. I will make it again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I don't normally review recipes when I don't follow them exactly. However, I hope that I might help fellow busy parents out and share the tweaks that I have made to make this a quick weeknight meal. First I seasoned boneless skinless thighs with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder and I put them on the gas grill. In the meantime I made the sauce as stated in the recipe. (added crushed red pepper to taste; used fresh ginger and garlic) I chopped the green pepper, onion and water chestnuts and sauteed all three in olive oil. I mixed the veggies and sauce together and spooned over the grilled chicken. Served with white rice... Quick easy weeknight dinner in a 1/2 an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is awesome. I didn't have pineapple juice, but I did have a 20 oz can of pineapple slices (in heavy syrup, which I didn't know at the time). I just used that juice (plus 1 cup of water) and cut up the pineapples into it and left out the pepper. Because of my kids, I cut the onion really small and cooked it and some garlic (instead of garlic salt) with the chicken. I also doubled the sauce. The only thing I had to go with it was bowtie pasta, but it was super. Couldn't get enough of it. I will be making this again a lot. It was super easy to do and the pineapple chunks made a big difference. The water chestnuts gave it a great crunch. Once again, it was great (and great leftover - I just had some for lunch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
delicious and sooo easy! I also added pineapple chunks, broccoli, carrots, red peppers and snow peas. I love veggies! The sauce was mild and sweet...great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Tried this for my kids birthday luau and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I used fresh garlic and gingerroot and I think that made it even better. For the kids sake, I didn't add any onions or bell peppers. I'm sure it would have been even better with it. I wouldn't call this recipe really quick, but it wasn't a big deal to make. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Needs a little extra, but it is good. What I did to make it better, was to shake the raw chicken chunks in a bowl with flour and a bit of salt. Then I cooked the pieces in a skillet with a bit of olive oil. I proceeded as directed but when it was all done cooking I tasted it and something was missing. I didn't have pineapple chunks (it needs it) so I added pineapple preserves and crushed red pepper flakes. Then, it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States