Luau Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
this recipe was incredibly bland. the sauce was okay, nothing bad about it, but it tasted like a very mild sweet teriyaki. i doubled the sauce because it didn't seem like enough, but it doubled while it was cooking, so if i ever made this again i would not double it. i put the chicken in a pan and layered bell peppers, carrots, onions and pineapple. not sure if i'd ever make this again, the sauce was just so plain! thanks anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I made this recipe last night for my Bunco group of 12 & everyone raved over it. I made it as is & topped the chicken with pineapple rings. Delicious! Everyone has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
This dish was a little too sweet for me, but I gave it four stars because it's so unusual. Next time I make it I will probably leave out the brown sugar. I think it needs a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly, it smelled heavenly while cooking but like one of the other members I found it just missing a bit of zip, if you like a bit more spice I would marinate the chicken breast in a combo of 2 tbsp of white wine plus 2 tbsp of soy and a pinch of garlic and ginger for a while first and in the sauce I would add just a pinch of hot pepper flakes (or one small diced pickled pepper) to give it a bit more depth of flavour. My kids think they don't like onion so maybe next time I might use 2 tbsp of dehydrated onion so they can't see the chunks LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
DELICIOUS and EASY - my 2 favorite words! I added pineapple rings with maraschino cherries in the center just to make the dish look more hawaiian and it definately did the trick. I think next time I'll add chunked pineapples to the mix and make extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Good and easy. I suggest making rice to go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I made this for 60 people that I invited to a Luau. It was fast to make and every bite was gone! I made it the day before,cut up the veggies and cooked chicken. made the sauce, and stored over night. mixed it all together the day of the party and put it in a pan over warmers...by the time of the party it was ready. I didn't bake it at all. Served it over rice...it was a big hit Thanks Marty. Everyone thought I spent hours on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
One word - tasty!!! My boyfriend and I are huge fans of sweet and sour chicken so I made this for him the other night. I doubled the sauce mixture and boiled it, then marinated the chicken in it for about an hour or so. I then put everything in a skillet and cooked it on the stovetop. Instead of using a whole onion, I only used about half. Also, as other users have suggested, I put the pineapple in the sauce, not just the pineapple juice. This was a very tasty, very simple meal to make. It was great with steamed rice and the extra sauce! I will most definitely be making this again - thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Delicious! This was easy and wonderful. I fried the onion and green pepper a bit with the chicken before I put it in the oven. I didn't need to cook it the whole hour. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Very good, my friends loved it. Make extra sauce to pour over sticky rice rounds out the dish very nicley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States