Lower Fat Fudge Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. My brownies turned out like a rubbery pancake. I added everything. Did the correct baking time. and the right tempurature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
These brownies, sadly, were not good at all. The texture was really rubbery, and the flavor was just not there (not chocolatey). Couldn't even tolerate them as low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wonderful! I love the chewy texture. As my boyfriend said, it's like eating pudding baked into a bar. Not the most decadent brownie's I've ever had, but definitely the best low-fat recipe I've tried - and I've tried a lot! Also the first time Hersey's cocoa has tasted chocolatey enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I have to agree with other bakers that these brownies turn out more rubbery than fudgy. They are also slightly bitter. If I make them again, I will substitute 3/4 c brown sugar for the whole cup white and vanilla yogurt for additional flavor. To sweeten it, I may add frosting. When I made them, I substituted 1/2 c of the flour with whole wheat and dropped a piece of semi-sweet chocolate in the center of each brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Pretty good. I agree with other reviewers: the texture is a bit strange. But the taste is decent. I like that there is no oil/butter so the fat/calories are less than a typical brownie. I'll make these for me, but wouldn't bring them to a bbq or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I used lowfat Vanilla yogurt, too, instead of plan yogurt and the vanilla extract. I thought they tasted great, but the texture was way off. They were very rubbery, like other reviews have said. When I brought them to work, I had to call them "bars" instead of brownies, so that people would try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Excellent brownies! I used the suggestions Jen gave and 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup. I think the balsamic really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I have made lowfat brownies before using yogurt, but with a brownie mix. I like to make things from scratch, so tried this recipe. It was not good at all. the texture was like rubber and the taste was not even good. Use a regular box brownie mix and add a cup of yogurt and small amt. of water. this works great and is lowfat too. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were super yummy!! I used sucanat instead of white sugar and fresh vanilla bean instead of extract, and then added chocolate chips. I also used 3 eggs because I have really small eggs from young chickens right now. These were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I *never* give a low low rating, but I did not care for this at all. The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one was because it will look like you're eating chocolate when you're on a diet. But truth be told, this is just bland. It's not sweet and maybe using full-sugar, full-fat vanilla yogurt would help, but then it would not be lower fat. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States