Lower-Fat Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
While I love the idea of a lower-fat coleslaw...this recipe is a good base for add on's. The recipe was easy to follow, quick to put together. But where I found lacking, is spice. While it had a zip, it didn't have that flavor I traditionally love in coleslaws. You will have to build with your own selections of spices to get it to the level of pizzazz. I needed black pepper, celery seed and celery salt. As written, again a good base for lower-fat, just needs more umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was good for a lower fat, healthier option. I didn't add the milk (didn't have any), but still coated the cabbage lightly. I agree with other reviewers that you need to add some other seasonings; I added celery seed and pepper for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Absolutely FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Seemed like way too much salt to me. It was good otherwise and I love a low fat option. I'd definitely make it again, just with way less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very dry if made exactly step by step, we added four more tablespoons of mayo (low fat) and it was moist then with an extra sprinkle of sugar to cut the tartness, but otherwise great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Loved it, but as said before, was lacking spice, so I added 2 tbsp of spicy mustard and it turned out great! Used Stevia instead of sugar as well so it is Omni Phase 3 approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I decreased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon then followed the recipe exactly for the dressing. It was not thick enough for my taste and I added another tablespoon of low fat mayo, then added a teaspoon of celery seeds and some cracked pepper. If you like very thin cole slaw dressing, use the full amount of milk. If not, start with just 2 tablespoons and see if it is thick enough for you. I did not let the dressing sit before adding it to the broccoli slaw bag and refrigerated for about 5 hrs before dinner. Flavorwise this didn't work for us - it tasted like diluted mayo. We won't have this again. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe but added 2 tablespoons of dill relish (will add more next time) and used a store bought bag of broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. This was great and even my husband liked it. I think some celery seed might make it pop. This is a great base recipe to experiment on and customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I really liked the basics of the recipe but I used half low fat yogurt instead of milk which made it less rich as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States