Lower Fat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fine flavor, but seemed really gummy. Not up to my standards for a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent alternative to the fat-laden nut bread I used to make. It freezes well, keeps in the fridge for weeks and is delicious warmed up! I made some personal adjustments by cutting the original recipe in half and omitting the raisins. I added 1/2 cup pecans (walnuts are really fatty) and 1/4 cup flaxseed (great crunch). Subbed 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white for the flour. Cook for 37 mins. will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great recipe. I made it 15 servings and got 20 muffins from it. Only thing I did different was add chocolate chips. I bake them in the middle of the oven at 350 for about 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amersss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I made a few revisions but this is a great recipe! First, I only made 1/2 the original size so that I just made one pan of the bread. I used 1/2 white & 1/2 whole wheat flour, added 3 tbsp applesauce in lieu of margarine/oil, added 1 tbsp ground flax seed, used twice as many walnuts, added an extra splash of vanilla, and didn't use any raisins. For those interested, I timed the cooking and it took one loaf 37-40 minutes with no burnt top and a moist inside. NOTE: The whole wheat flour makes it a more dense bread and the lack of oil/margarine affects the consistency but neither change the good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Very good and low in fat! It would be nice to have a time frame. The crust did get dark before it was done but its not hard, still soft. Very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
January 2007. Made this for my daughter's 16th birthday party; one gal said she doesn't eat bread but ate 5 slices of this! I substituted 1 cup of mini chocolate chips for the raisins/ nuts. Definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I have used this recipe many times now and people cannot get enough of it! They can't believe that it is so moist and lower fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I'm new to "breads" and some sort of timeframe for the baking would have been helpful. I also found that the exterior burned while the interior was still "pudding". Should have read the review for covering with foil! Taste and texture are better than average reduced fat materials and I have tried a few (even from WW, blech!). All in all, a nice use of the bananas that were going too ripe on the kitchen table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
To further reduce calories, I used 1/2 c Egg Beaters for the egg whites, 8 bananas, 1 c Splenda instead of the brown sugar, 2 T applesauce instead of the margarine, 2 T vanilla and 2 c each whole wheat and white flour. I baked at 350 due to lack of fat in recipe. I thought it came out pretty decent. I would make it again. I covered the tops of the bread with foil during cooking so they wouldn't over brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
A low-fat option for banana bread lovers. The only thing missing is the banana bread flavor. Seriously, it's edible, but it's not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States