Lower Fat Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was pretty good. I don't really have it with a homemade that is "regular" fat, but I enjoyed it and my Hubby did also. I substituted 3/4 cup of flour for wheat flour, added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of butter and about 2-3 tablespoons of sour cream to make it a little more moist. It turned out really well as a healthy alternative to regular banana bread. I would definitely make it again, and probably add more sour cream, cinnamon like mentioned in other reviews, and more bananas to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe was great! Not only was it incredibly easy to make but I had all the ingredients in my pantry. You don't miss all the fat with this recipe, it's moist, sweet, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Pretty good. I didn't feel like chopping any nuts, so I put in dried cranberries insteaed. This made the bread a bit sweeter, and I liked the flavor from the cranberries. It's pretty dense, and it took 1 hour and 10 minutes to bake--at 350. I dont' bake anything in my oven at 325--takes way too long! This is easy to mix up and used my last two bananas, some milk, and applesauce--all things that needed to go, so it works for me. I think it could benefit from some spices (cinnamon, etc) that I'd add if I make it again. I don't think we'll eat it all though, so it'll take a field trip with me to work. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
All I can say is WOW. What a superb recipe -- light, flavorful, and practically fat free. Even better without the walnuts. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This banana bread is FANTASTIC! I combined advice from other reviewers, used 1/3 cup light brown sugar and used about 1/6 cup of Splenda. Instead of the applesauce I used Light Greek Yogurt, reduced the 1 Tbs of Vanilla to 1 Tsp, and added cinnamon to taste. I baked the bread on the rack below the middle for 50 minutes and it came out perfectly...very moist. I also made sure when I was combining the dry ingredients with the wet, that I didn't over-mix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Replaced apple sauce with 1/2 cup non fat Greek yogurt, put in 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and used 1 cup spelt flour and 3/4 cup all purpose. I also reduced the vanilla to 1 tsp and replaced nuts with chocolate chips for the kids. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Fabulous recipe. I omitted the nuts for my toddler and she absolutely loves it. It has become a staple for whenever we have a few bananas turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is a great low fat banana bread! I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour the recipe called for, instead using only 3/4 cup all purpose. I also used 3 bananas instead of 2 which added flavor and moistness. Instead of making this recipe in a bread pan (which I have done before and it was a little dense) I sprayed cupcake tins and poured the mixture in them. I omitted the walnuts for my guests and sprinkled sugar crystals on top for a coffee shop look. My friends loved them and took the extras home for later. This made 12 large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoKel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Pretty good. I made it better with brown sugar, whole wheat pastry flour and the addition of chopped pecans and a few chocolate chips. Great texture even without the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Added a third banana. Not as good as the other banana bread I make, but still pretty good for a healthy-ish recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States