Lower Fat Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I think the thing that helped it out the most was the second step where you beat the eggs and sugar until fluffy. That seemed to give this very dense and moist loaf a raise. Thank you for the heathly snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made as is and it was delicious. The only thing I added was raisins. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
After looking through some of the reviews, I also cut the sugar down to a 1/3rd cup, added a tsp of cinnamon, cut the vanilla down to a tsp. and used half whole wheat flour. In addition, I doubled the applesauce and added a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. The bread turned out very well - moist and flavorful, very banana-y. Since I'm at altitude I increased the temp to 350 degrees and it was done in 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Delicious and moist made just as written. No need to change a thing. (Pet peeve: Don't change a bunch of stuff and then give it a lesser rating! That's just ridiculous to say the least.) Rate the recipe based upon the actual recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Yummy! I can't eat walnuts, but I have added chocolate chips for a treat! I have also made mini muffins, and they cook in about 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Use at least 3 bananas, not 2. Otherwise recipe great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was pretty good. I don't really have it with a homemade that is "regular" fat, but I enjoyed it and my Hubby did also. I substituted 3/4 cup of flour for wheat flour, added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of butter and about 2-3 tablespoons of sour cream to make it a little more moist. It turned out really well as a healthy alternative to regular banana bread. I would definitely make it again, and probably add more sour cream, cinnamon like mentioned in other reviews, and more bananas to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe was great! Not only was it incredibly easy to make but I had all the ingredients in my pantry. You don't miss all the fat with this recipe, it's moist, sweet, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Pretty good. I didn't feel like chopping any nuts, so I put in dried cranberries insteaed. This made the bread a bit sweeter, and I liked the flavor from the cranberries. It's pretty dense, and it took 1 hour and 10 minutes to bake--at 350. I dont' bake anything in my oven at 325--takes way too long! This is easy to mix up and used my last two bananas, some milk, and applesauce--all things that needed to go, so it works for me. I think it could benefit from some spices (cinnamon, etc) that I'd add if I make it again. I don't think we'll eat it all though, so it'll take a field trip with me to work. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
All I can say is WOW. What a superb recipe -- light, flavorful, and practically fat free. Even better without the walnuts. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States