Lower Fat Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I also added ground flax seed and fresh blueberries. I mixed the walnuts with pecan pieces. Not too bad at all. Loved using the applesauce! Maybe I'll try it with dark chocolate chips next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I cut the sugar in half as many others did and also added chocolate chips. As has been suggested, I used 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon almond extract although I'd go with all vanilla next time (I liked it but my kids did not). I replaced the flour with a mix (same total volume) of whole grain flours and flax meal. It's super easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I was diagnosed with Fructose Malabsorption where naturally occurring fruit sugars are not properly digested, bounce around in my gut and ferment. Good times... BUT! This banana bread is perfect once slightly modified. ~~~ Substitute 1/3 cups of sugar with Dextrose (natural and less sweet than Sucrose) and since apples are also off-limits to Fructose Malabsorbers the applesauce needed to be subbed also. I didn't want to use oil, so I used Sugar-Free Jello Instant Banana Cream Pudding. Amazing! ~~~ This banana bread is sincerely the best I've ever had, and I'm a total carb-o-holic so I know banana breads :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey DTC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this exactly as written plus 1 Tbsp extra flour to adjust for high altitude. It's delicious. I'm eating a piece now, warm from the oven. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Kid approved. I used 1 TSP not TBL of vanilla and added a dash of cinnamon. I decreased the sugar to 1/3 cup and omitted the walnuts (my child doesn't like those). In my haste, I acidentally omitted the oil and it was still terrific without it. I may avoid the flour next time in the pan and just "pam" it. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Very good, and flavorful. I love the low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is delicious! I added 3 bananas instead of 2. Only change I made. Very moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Delicious! After reading other reviews I modified the recipe little bit: I used 3 bananas, 1/2 cup white yogurt (instead of the apple sauce) and only 1/3 cup of sugar. I also added some cinnamon, raisins and lax seeds. The bread came out nice and moist with a great banana flavour. I have tried several other banana bread recipes before, but this one is my favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria MM
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Baked exactly as directed and loved it! My boyfriend couldn't get enough. Moist and wonderful. I cooked it a bit longer when I made it the second time around (by accident), but it gave it a nice crisp 'crust' on the top that I definitely loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States